NASA Unveils New National Assembly Lineup Ahead of October Elections

  • By Rodgers Omondi on Wednesday, 13 September 2017 - 1:55pm
    File image of NASA Leaders Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka and Moses Wetangula COURTESY
  • The National Super Alliance (NASA) has reportedly agreed on the names of leaders who will occupy House leadership positions as the National Assembly resumes its sittings.

    Bungoma Senator and NASA co-principal Moses Wetang’ula on Tuesday held a meeting with some Opposition MPs at his office around 1 pm where they were informed of the final list.

    In the Senate, the Minority Leader position will be retained by Mr Wetang’ula and deputised by Siaya Senator James Orengo.

    Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Jnr will be the Opposition Senate Whip deputised by Nominated Senator Petronila Were of the Amani National Congress (ANC).

    Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Chairman John Mbadi is scheduled to take over the National Assembly Minority Leader position from Francis Nyenze of Kitui West and will be deputised by Lugari Legislator Ayub Savula of ANC.

    Kathiani Member of Parliament Robert Mbui is set to be the new National Assembly Minority Chief Whip and will be deputised by Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa of Ford Kenya.

    Sources privy to the meeting noted that Senator Wetang’ula was expected to write to the Speaker of National Assembly, Justin Muturi, and his Senate counterpart Kenneth Lusaka on Wednesday about the names.

    “Mr Wetang’ula will formally write to the speakers on Wednesday morning so that when the House starts its normal operations, we have leadership in place,” the source stated.

    The NASA leaders have, however, not settled on the chairpersons of the different parliamentary committees.

    “We did not want to be seen to be rushing to fill in all the position, other positions will be discussed later and appropriate candidates will be floated,” the Nation reported.

    Mr Mbadi, however, denied being aware of any such meeting, adding that consultations have been ongoing among the coalition Principals.

    “There are matters that I cannot authoritatively comment about as they are a preserve of the principals. What I can confirm to you is that the principals have been consulting about the positions,” Mbadi stated.

    Meanwhile, the National Assembly has today directed the minority group in the National Assembly to submit their names by 2:30 pm today to allow the House to proceed with its schedule as planned.   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved