Ministry of Interior & Coordination of National Government

 The Office of the President, Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government is charged with the responsibility of public administration, internal security, printing of Government documents , Immigration and Registration of Persons, Betting Control Probation Services, Prison Services and championing campaign against drug and substance abuse. The Ministry also coordinates state functions and offers reception services to all Government ministries. Given these diverse functions, PA&IS is organized into five main departments, thus Provincial Administration Services, Kenya Police, Administration Police, Government Press, and National Agency for the Campaign Against Drug Abuse (NACADA).

The Ministry’s functions have evolved and its operations restructured over time to address emerging issues. However, it has remained decentralized to the grassroots in order to provide a framework for quick interpretation, dissemination and implementation of Government policies. Currently the Ministry oversees the administration, development and security of 8 Provinces, 287 Districts, 476 Divisions, 2,516 Locations and 6,841 sub locations as well as other administrative officers seconded to line Ministries.



  • Betting Control and Licensing
  • Border Control Point Management
  • Citizenship and Immigration Policy and Services
  • Civilian Oversight over Police
  • Criminal Investigation Department
  • Disasters and Emergency Response Coordination
  • Drug and Narcotic Substance Control
  • Government Printer
  • Internal Security Affairs
  • Internal State functions
  • Kenya Police Service
  • Kenya Prison Services
  • Management of Boundaries
  • Management of Correctional Services
  • Management of Refugee Policy
  • National Cohesion and Reconciliation Management
  • National Disaster Management
  • National Disaster Operations Centre
  • National Disaster Policy
  • National Government Coordination of Counties
  • National Peace Building and Conflict Management
  • Policy on Training of Security Personnel
  • Registration of Births and Deaths Services
  • Registration of Persons Services
  • Security of Airstrips and Roads
  • Small Arms and Light Weapons Management Institutions
  • National Disaster Operations Centre


State Department of Interior
Harambee House, Harambee Avenue
P.O Box 30510,00100 Nairobi.
Tel: +254-20-2227411

Directorate of Immigration and Registration of Persons
Nyayo House 20th floor, Kenyatta Avenue/Uhuru Highway
P.O Box 30191,00100 Nairobi.
Tel: +254-20-2222022, +254-20-2217544, +254-20-2218833

Department of Immigration Services
Nyayo House 9th floor, Kenyatta Avenue/Uhuru Highway
P.O Box 30191,00100 Nairobi.
Tel: +254-20-2222022, +254-20-2217544, +254-20-2218833

National Registration Bureau
NSSF Building, Block B 8th Floor
P.O Box 57007,00200 Nairobi.
Tel: +254-20-2722526, +254-20-2720069
Fax number; 2716205

Department of Refugee Affairs
Castle Building, James Gichuru Road, Lavington
P.O Box 42227 -00100 Nairobi.
Tel No. +254-20-4348145

Department of Civil Registration
Hass Plaza 4th Floor, Lower Hill Road,
P.O Box 49179- 00100 Nairobi
Tel; +254-20-2714987/8
Fax; 2714989

Integrated Population Registration Services
Nyayo House 4th floor, Kenyatta Avenue/Uhuru Highway
P.O Box 30191 00100 Nairobi.
Tel: 2222022, 2217544, 2218833 

Subscribe to Ministry of Interior & Coordination of National Government