KRA Revises Working Hours for Entire Month Over Tax Filing

Workers inside Kenya Revenue Authority offices.
Workers inside Kenya Revenue Authority offices.

The Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) has revised its working hours as the deadline for filing tax returns fast approaches

In a notice in the local dailies on Tuesday, May 28, the authority announced that the working hours would run until midnight on some days.

The new direction will cut across KRA service centers, Huduma Centers, and contact center.

All the tax service offices will be expected to operate from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm every weekday.

KRA offices in Nairobi.
A file image of the reception area at KRA offices in Nairobi.

On Saturdays, the operation time will last from 9:00 am -1:00 pm except Saturday, June 29, when  service are expected to run from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Tthe service centers will remain closed all sundays except for June 30 when the office will remain open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm.

The authority further indicated that select Huduma Centers will be expected to run from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm while all other centers will run from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. The Huduma Centers will remain closed on Saturdays and centers.

KRA's contact center will also be in service from 7:00 am and 7:00 pm on weekdays but will extend the service to run from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm from June 24 to June 28.

On Saturdays, the call center will serve from 9:00 am and 4:00 pm.

On Sundays, the call center is scheduled to operate from 9:00 am and 1:00 pm but on June 30, the deadline of filing tax returns, the service will begin at 9:00 am and run till midnight.

"Remember to file your tax return on or before June 30, 2024. Log onto today!" Read a notice by KRA.

The listed data centers include Huduma Centers in Nairobi such as GPO, City Square, Kibra, Makadara, and Eastleigh.

In the Southern Region, services will be offered at Mombasa Huduma Center while the South Rift region, Nakuru and Kericho Huduma Centers will be listed.

Eldoret and Kitale Huduma Centers will serve the North Rift Region, Meru, and Embu centers will serve the Northern Region, Kiambu, Laikipia and Nyeri centers will serve the Central Region while Kisumu, Kakamega and Kisii will serve the Western Region.

KRA targets to see 8.2 million taxpayers file their tax returns before the deadline of June 30 or face a penalty of Ksh10,000.

Process to file nil returns on the KRA iTax portal
The process to file returns on the KRA iTax portal
  • .