10 Kenyan Women Who Have Made History in the 2017 General Election

  • This year's election has seen many women rise to leadership positions for the first time, meaning there will be a historic high number of women leaders in the country.

    Kenya's Constitution guarantees women a third of all seats in all political offices but no law has been enacted to enforce this since only 20% of the outgoing lawmakers were women.

    Sophia Abi Noor of Party of Development and Reforms (PDR) is the first woman from North eastern to be elected to Parliament in Ijara Constituency.

    She garnered 6,001 votes beating her closest rival who got 5,705 votes.

    [caption caption="Sophia Abi Noor"][/caption]

    Former journalist Naisula Lesuuda, who is also a Nominated Senator, won the Samburu West MP seat and became the first elected woman from the constituency.

    Naisula of the KANU party trounced Jubilee Party's Jonathan Lati.

    [caption caption="Naisula Lesuuda"][/caption]

    In Nakuru, Njoro constituents elected the first female Member of Parliament (MP) Charity Katambi Chepkwony.

    The former board member of Kenya Literature Bureau (KLB) beat five independent opponents to win the seat.

    [caption caption="Charity Katambi Chepkwony."][/caption]

    Turbo residents also surprised many when they elected Janet Sitienei to be their new Legislator.

    Ms Sitienei defied all odds in the Jubilee zone as an independent candidate to become the first female elected mp in the constituency.

    [caption caption=" Janet Sitienei"][/caption]

    Gatundu North constituents have also made history by electing Anne Wanjiku as the first female MP.

    Wanjiku, a former Journalist at Kameme FM garnered 39,447 votes while his closest rival got 9,314 votes.

    [caption caption="Former Journalist at Kameme FM Anne Wanjiku"][/caption]

    Another female candidate, National Assembly Deputy Speaker Joyce Laboso, became the first female governor in the country after clinching the Bomet Governorship from incumbent Isaac Ruto of Chama Cha Mashinani.

    [caption caption="Joyce Laboso"][/caption]

    Anne Waiguru of Jubilee party joined Laboso in the fete as she also emerged victorious in the Kirinyaga gubernatorial race beating incumbent Joseph Ndathi.

    [caption caption="Anne Waiguru"][/caption]

    Kitui County was not left behind as Charity Ngilu of NARC won the county's top seat sending home incumbent Julius Malombe.

    [caption caption="Charity Ngilu"][/caption]

    In Nandi County, Cynthia Jepkosgei Muge, a 24-year-old graduate of the University of Nairobi, clinched the MCA seat for the Kilibwoni Ward as an independent candidate beating a Jubilee candidate.

    [caption caption="Cynthia Jepkosgei Muge"][/caption]

    In the same county, Nancy Chemutai, 26, beat County Assembly majority leader Julius Menjo in Kobujoi Ward.

    [caption caption="Former Chamgei FM journalist Nancy Chemutai "][/caption]

    This is the first election that has seen a huge number of women elected in different electoral seats.