Supreme Court Upholds Uhuru's Win

The Supreme Court has upheld President Uhuru Kenyatta’s re-election in the October 26 poll.

The summary ruling was made on Monday 10 am by the six-judge bench led by Chief Justice David Maraga.

In the judgment, Maraga stated that the petitions were not merited and were thus dismissed.

Maraga noted that the two presidential election petitions were consolidated and heard together because of time pressure and that the judges had arrived at the final decision unanimously.

The CJ added that the detailed judgement of the presidential petition shall be issued within 21 days of the determination issued on Monday.

[caption caption="Thirdway Alliance leader Ekuru Aukot and other leaders ahead of Supreme Court ruling on Monday"][/caption]

"After the hearing of the petitions we retired with only two days left to the deadline and it was impossible to write a full judgement. What we read today is a summary verdict on the issues raised in the petitions," Maraga stated.

"The presidential election held on 26 October is hereby upheld as is the election of the third respondent. Each party shall bear its own cost," he added.

The two presidential election petitions were filed by former Kilome MP Harun Mwau and activists Njonjo Mue and Khelef Khalifa.

Mwau’s petition which listed IEBC, Chairman Wafula Chebukati and President Kenyatta stated that IEBC’s failure to allow parties to conduct fresh primaries before the repeat polls denied those who wanted to contest the election an opportunity to do so.

The former MP also attached a ruling declaring United Democratic Party presidential candidate Cyrus Jirongo bankrupt hence arguing he was unqualified to run for the Presidency.

Mue and Khalifa’s petition stated that IEBC flouted constitutional provisions in the fresh poll by gazetting strangers on the ballot paper and including National Super Alliance (NASA) candidate Raila Odinga in the presidential race despite his withdrawal.

The Court, however, rejected a paupers' application by George Bush and John Chengo on grounds that it did not meet the required threshold.

[caption caption="National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale, Third Way Alliance leader Ekuru Aukot and various lawyers await Supreme Court verdict"][/caption]

  • .