24 University Campuses Closed Down By Govt

  • Kenyans.co.ke can now reveal some of the campuses closed down by the government over the reduction of students admitted to them.

    In 2018, the government, through the Ministry of Education and the Commission of University Education (CUE), commenced on a crackdown and closed down some 57 campuses after they failed to meet accreditation requirements.

    Speaking to Kenyans.co.ke, a representative from CUE confirmed that the state had unleashed a crackdown and that some of the most hit universities include Laikipia and Moi. Laikipia had six of its campuses shut down while Moi had three.

    While speaking during the release of 2019 University results, Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha promised that the rationalisation of universities would continue until they were fully utilised.

    “We will rationalise academic programmes and institutions in Kenya with a view to ensure full potential of the existing universities and campuses.

    "If possible, existing universities and campuses can be consolidated for maximum utilisation,” stated Magoha.

    His statement was echoed by CUE CEO Mwenda Ntarangwi explaining that the crackdown would be carried on until standards in the higher education sector were up again.

    Below is a list of all the universities closed by the government.

    1. Moi University Kericho Campus

    2. Moi University Mombasa Campus

    3. Moi University Nakuru Campus

    4. Laikipia University Embu Campus

    5. Laikipia University Nyahururu Campus

    6. Laikipia University Upper Hill Campus

    7. Laikipia University Naivasha Campus

    8. Laikipia University Nakuru Campus

    9. Laikipia University Eldoret Campus

    10. JKUAT Kisumu Campus

    11. JKUAT Westlands Campus

    12. Kenya Methodist University Nakuru Campus

    13.  Kenya Methodist University Nyeri Campus

    14. Catholic University of East Africa Kisumu Campus

    15. Catholic University of East Africa Nairobi CBD Campus

    16. University of Baraton Eldoret Campus

    17. University of Baraton Nairobi Campus

    18. Cooperative University Meru Campus

    19. Kabarak University Nairobi Campus

    20. South Eastern Kenya University Nairobi Campus

    21. Masinde Muliro University Nairobi Campus

    22. Mount Kenya University Kabarnet Campus

    23. Egerton University Kabarnet Campus

    24. Maseno University Homa Bay Campus