Uhuru Fires CS Kiunjuri in New Cabinet Reshuffle

  • President Uhuru Kenyatta, on Tuesday, January 14,  announced changes in his Cabinet and sent some of his ministers home.

    Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri was replaced by Peter Munya.

    Joe Okudo was nominated to deputise Amina Mohammed in the Sports Ministry. He assumes the rank of Principal Secretary previously held by Kirimi Kaberia.

    Outgoing Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri (pictured) who was replaced by

    Mutahi Kagwe was appointed in charge of Health.

    Defence CS Raychelle Omamo was handed the Foreign Affairs docket. 

    Sicily Kariuki as Cabinet Secretary Water. Simon Chelugui was moved to the Ministry of Labor.

    Peter Munya is the new Agriculture Cabinet Secretary. His docket will be taken over by Betty Maina

    Monica Juma moved to Defence.

    CS Ukur Yattani was also confirmed as the bonafide Treasury Ministry head.

    Kiunjuri's sacking came after critics told the media that the outspoken CS's talk over 2022 despite the president's warning to his staff not to engage in politics. Nyeri Town MP Ngunjiri Wambugu argued that the CS seemed as though he did not believe in the current government.

    After the address, the president made it clear that if he had not mentioned the unassigned CSs names, then it meant they had been kicked out of the office.

    Interior CS Fred Matiang'i, Adan Mohammed (East African Community and Northern Corridor Development) and Charles Keter (Energy) among others retained their seats.

    During the address, Uhuru also made a big u-turn and directed that the implementation of new National Health Insurance Fund (NHIF) rules be halted with immediate effect, following an outcry by Kenyans and politicians alike.

    "Fellow Kenyans, in regards to health insurance, I am aware of the proposed changes in the fees and structures of insurance benefits by the NHIF. 

    "Given my administration's commitments to providing affordable healthcare, I direct the Ministry of Health to immediately halt the implementation of these proposals to allow further consultations," Kenyatta stated. 

    Uhuru also made changes in the principal secretary (PS) and cabinet assistant secretary (CAS) division Hussein Dado was made Interior and coordination CAS as Abdul Bahari took over Devolution as CAS.

    Below are the changes in the PS and CAS posts.

    Reshuffle in the PS posts
    Joe Okudho - Sports
    Dr. Chris Kiptoo - Environment, Forestry
    Dr. Kevit Desai - EAC
    Dr. Margaret Mwaima - Regional Development
    Esther Koimett - Broadcasting and telecommunications
    Peter Kaberia - Mining
    Safina Kwekwe - Tourism
    Prof. Coletta Suda - Gender

    Reshuffle in the CAS posts
    1. Hussein Dado- Interior and coordination
    2. Patrick Ole Ntutu - Labor and Social Protection
    3. Andrew Tuimur - Water, sanitation, irrigation
    4. Abdul Bahari - Devolution and ASAR
    5. Lawrence Karanja - Industrialization, Trade and Enterprise Development 
    6. Peter Odoyo - Defence (Not so certain on the name)
    7. Maureen Magoma - ICT, Innovation, Youth affairs
    8. Winnie Guchu - State law Office
    9. Wavinya Ndeti - Transport
    10. Zacharia Kinuthia Mugure - Education
    11. Mumina Bonaya - Education
    12. Linah Chebii Kilimo - Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Co-operatives
    13. Ann Mukami Nyaga - Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Co-operatives
    14. Mercy Mwangangi - Health
    15. Nadia Ahmed Abdalla - ICT

    President Uhuru Kenyatta chairing a Cabinet meeting in February 2019