Caleb Kositany Ousted as Jubilee Deputy Sec Gen

  • Former Jubilee Party Deputy Secretary-General Caleb Kositany.
    Former Jubilee Party Deputy Secretary-General Caleb Kositany.
  • Soy Member of Parliament Caleb Kositany was on Monday, March 1, ousted from the Jubilee Deputy Secretary-General position.

    The legislator was replaced by his Cherangany counterpart Joshua Kutuny. Jubilee Secretary General Raphael Tuju, through a statement, confirmed that the ouster was done in exercise of the party's mandate as provided for under Article 7 (2) of the Jubilee party constitution

    The reports come just days after Jubilee Vice-Chairman David Murathe stated that the ruling party would hold a national management committee meeting and effectively kick out the legislator from the position.

    Jubilee Secretary-General Raphael Tuju at a press conference outside the party headquarters in Pangani, Nairobi in August 2020

    Murathe accused the Soy MP of showing obvious allegiance to the Tanga Tanga brigade primarily by campaigning for United Democratic Alliance (UDA) candidates in various by-elections. 

    Kositany, however, disputed Murathe's claims faulting the Vice Chairman for campaigning for an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) candidate in the Kibra by-election.

    The removal of Kositany is the latest development in the purge within the ruling party. Murathe had initially sounded a warning to errant party members, stating that their disloyalty would cost them.

    This has seen politicians who have allegedly decamped from the party, face dire consequences. The party recently ousted Murang'a Senator Irungu Kang'ata as its Senate Majority Chief Whip.

    Tuju defended the move by stating that Kang'ata had lost trust of his Senate leaders by leaking confidential information of the party.

    "We had a meeting where we invited Senator Kang’ata but he refused to come, he joined online and later discussed what was discussed to the media.

    "If after talking, you expose what was discussed, then that is not acceptable and that is a big failure as a leader," Tuju stated.

    Further, six nominated senators had faced the ax in a bid to phase out errant members following their disloyalty. Among the nominated senators include Isaac Mwaura, Mary Yiane, Waqo Naomi Jilo, Millicent Omanga, Prengei Victor and Iman Falhada Dekow. One more case, also involving a nominated senator, is still pending.

    The six senators moved to the Party Tribunal in an attempt to fight the ouster. 

    Murang'a Senator Irungu Kang'ata speaks at Gatura AIPCA church on February 28, 2021
    Murang'a Senator Irungu Kang'ata speaks at Gatura AIPCA church on February 28, 2021