NMS Moves In To Help Depressed Kenyans

NMS Boss Mohammed Badi and Nairobi Acting Governor Anne Kananu at Uthiru Hospital
Former NMS Boss Mohammed Badi and Nairobi Acting Governor Anne Kananu at Uthiru Hospital.

The Nairobi Metropolitan Service (NMS) has moved in to help address the rising cases of depression and suicide in the city.

On Monday, August 30, the NMS released a list of 32 health centers where city residents undergoing mental anguish and psychological instability can receive support services.

The health centres are distributed across all Levels I, II and IV facilities as well as community-based medical centres.

According to a report published by the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) in July, Nairobi recorded 64 suicides and 39 attacks related to depression and stress in the three months between March and June 2021. 

The DCI offiices in Kiambu
The DCI offices in Kiambu

Nairobi was ranked third behind Rift Valley with 68 suicides and 106 assault cases and Nyanza with 67 suicides and 51 assault cases over the same period. 

The services to be offered in these health facilities will include psychiatry, counseling and psychotherapy, mental wellness clinic, school mental health, community mental health, child and adolescents’ mental health evaluations, as well as epilepsy clinics. 

The Level IV facilities that will be providing the services include Mbagathi Hospital in Lang'ata, Mutuini Hospital in Dagoretti South, Mama Lucy Hospital in Embakasi West and Pumwani Maternity Hospital in Kamukunji. 

Residents can also access the services at Level II and III facilities in Embakasi East subcounty that comprise of Mukuru kwa Njenga, Embakasi East and Soweto-Kayole health centres and Dandora II, Kariobangi North and Kasarani health centres in Kasarani subcounty. 

In Makadara subcounty, there are Lunga Lunga, Makadara and Jericho health centres, while Lang’ata, Kibera Amref, and Kibera DO health centres have been listed to offer the services.

Others are Kangemi and Westlands health centres, Mji wa Huruma dispensary and Lower Kabete health centre in Westlands, Kayole II and Umoja health centres in Embakasi West, Ngara Health Centre Ngara Methadone Clinic. 

The remaining centres are Waithaka and Uthiru-Muthua in Dagoretti South subcounty and Mathare North and Kahawa West health centres in Ruaraka. 

Ngara Child Friendly clinic is the only child and adolescents’ centre providing mental health assessment services. 

Photo of Nairobi City County.
An aerial view photo of Nairobi City County.
  • . .