Ex NTV Journalist Among Those Shortlisted For Top EACC Job

  • Ethics and Anti-Corruption Comission (EACC) Offices at Integrity centre Building in Nairobi. ‎Monday, ‎18 ‎November ‎2019.
    Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) Offices at Integrity Centre in Nairobi. ‎Monday, ‎18 ‎November ‎2019.
    Simon Kiragu
  • The Public Service Commission (PSC) has shortlisted 21 candidates for the two positions of commissioners at the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC).

    Former NTV journalist Richard Chacha is among those shortlisted for the EACC commissioners job. Chacha is currently the Director of Communications for Mombasa County.

    The anti-graft commission announced vacancies of the top positions following the resignation of two commissioners.

    A File Image of Former NTV Journalist Richard Chacha

    Dabar Abdi Malim and Rose Macharia tendered their resignation on September 1. In a letter addressed to President Uhuru Kenyatta, the two called it quits

    "His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta has today, 1st September 2021, received and accepted the resignation of Dr Dabar Abdi Maalim and Mrs Rose Mghoi Macharia as Commissioners of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC)," State House wrote.

    Apart from Chacha, John Kiplelei Kirui, Joan Andisi Machayo, Lawrence Nyalle, Halima Abdi Omar Shuria, Enock Osoro Kinara, Rukia Atikiya, Elizabeth Njambi Munene-Muchane, Nancy Karimi, and Abdiaziz Sheikh Maad.

    Other shortlisted candidates include Faith Waguthi Waigwa, Adan Wachu Bulle, Mary Mwongeli Mutuku Ndeto, Florence Muinde, Lucy Wanja Kinuthia, Richard Okoth Odour, Monica Wanjiru Muiru, Paul Sakana Lenkume, Stellah Ibongia Onyiego, Alfred Mtuweta Mshimba and Abdihafid Abdullahi Yarrow.

    Shortlisted candidates will be interviewed between September 21 and September 30.

    Once the interviews are done, the names of preferred candidates will be sent to parliament for vetting and consideration within 21 days. Parliament will then forward the names of approved candidates to the President for the appointment.

    Appointment of commissioners to fill the two vacant positions is in line with the EACC Act which states that the commission should constitute five members from which a  chairperson is selected.

    Commissioners are appointed by the President and serve a single term of six years on part-time basis.