Sophia Wanuna Among Journalists Who Will Moderate Deputy Presidential Debate

    A collage of running mates Justina Wamae, Rigathi Gachagua and Martha Karua. (left to right)
  • The Presidential Debates Secretariat on Wednesday, July 13 revealed the journalists who will moderate the debate between UDA running mate Rigathi Gachagua and Azimio's Martha Karua.

    In a press release seen by, the session pitting Gachagua and Karua will be moderated by KTN News' Sophia Wanuna and NTV's James Smart.

    The session will take place between 8.00 and 9.30 p.m on Tuesday, July 19 at the Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA).

    A collage f journalists James Smart and Sophia Wanuna

    "The moderators have been selected based on rigorous criteria that , among others, endear the principles of impartiality, fairness and objectivity, a strong understanding of the major issues of this election," the statement read in part.

    Notably, the face-off  will be preceded by a debate between running mates of presidential candidates who garnered less than 5 per cent in the three of the most-recent opinion polls.

    The duel pitting Roots party's Justina Wamae and Agano's Ruth Mutua will be moderated by TV47 presenter Linda Alela and KBC's Jacob Kioria.

    Citizen TV's Trevor Ombija will moderate the panel discussions that will take part before and after both debates. Moderators will be  required to perform certain duties and adhere to certain rules.

    "Moderators will select the questions to be asked ad shall share the same with the candidates. They will not meet with any of the campaign teams or the candidates," the organizers declared.

    The secretariat reiterated its commitment to ensure that they deliver a fair debate guided by principles of integrity, independence and accountability.

    Prior to this debate, Nairobi Gubernatorial candidates faced it off in the first ever Nairobi Gubernatorial debate, which was highlighted by Senator Johnson Sakaja and Polycarp Igathe's face off.

    A week after the deputy president designates argue out their plan for the country, presidential candidates will lock horns in the 2022 Presidential Debate.

    Only four candidates: Azimio's Raila Odinga, UDA's William Ruto, Roots Party's George Wajackoyah and Agano's David Mwaure were cleared by IEBC and thus will attend the debate.

    Citizen TV anchor Trevor Ombija hosting a forum at Laico Regency hotel on November 26, 2019.
    Citizen TV anchor Trevor Ombija hosting a forum at Laico Regency Hotel on November 26, 2019.