Details of NASA Deal to Be Signed on Wednesday

  • Details have emerged regarding the agreements contained in a power-sharing deal crafted by the National Super Alliance (NASA) that was signed on Wednesday.

    Top of the deal is an arrangement to create the position of a Chief Minister which will be set aside for the leader who emerges third behind the Alliance's flag bearer and his deputy.

    According to the deal, this will be determined after NASA holds an internal nomination to decide who will fly its presidential flag in the August 8 General Election.

    Those contesting for the ticket are ODM's Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Musalia Mudavadi (ANC) and Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula (Ford Kenya).

    The Opposition has agreed that in case of victory in the upcoming polls, its President will exercise executive powers to create the Chief Minister's position to accommodate the third principal in its administration.

    Since NASA comprises of four principals, the deal states that the two most popular candidates will be the presidential candidate and the running mate.

    The other two persons will then be nominated to Parliament and later fronted as the Speaker and Leader of Majority in the House.

    According to sources privy to the deal, once the Chief Minister position is formed, the Alliance proposes to call for a referendum to change the position to that of Prime Minister to ensure equality for all participants in the coalition.

    "This is to ensure that should NASA form the government, then at least one of the principals will hold number three position in the new pecking order," the source was quoted by the Standard.

    The agreement also includes a plan of how to conduct nominations which will include zoning regions based on every party's popularity.

    The committee mandated with coming up with the deal also crafted a proposal for the four parties to share government positions and set aside additional slots for any new entrants.

    NASA is also said to have crafted a possible combination of its presidential flagbearer and running mate which includes a Raila-Kalonzo, Mudavadi-Kalonzo, Kalonzo-Mudavadi, Raila-Mudavadi or Kalonzo-Wetangula ticket.

    On Tuesday, the committee headed by Siaya Senator James Orengo divulged that they had reached an agreement.

    The signed document will then be deposited with the Registrar of Political Parties.