NASA Parties Agree to Have Joint Nominations in Nairobi County

The National Super Alliance (NASA) has finally made the first major agreement on their plan to have joint nominations among its four constituent parties - ODM, Wiper, ANC and FORD-Kenya.

According to Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero, the Opposition coalition has already agreed that they would have joint nominations for all seats in Nairobi County.

“We will be representing one candidate in the 85 wards, 17 constituencies, Women representative, Senator, deputy Governor and Governor’s seats in Nairobi County,” Kidero stated.

Kidero downplayed reports of disagreement in NASA, expressing optimism that the coalition would reach at amicable solutions in the other regions of the county.

The Nairobi Governor stated that NASA had made the decision to avoid making the mistake the CORD coalition made in 2013, where in some seats there were more than one candidate from the constituent parties who would split the vote to the advantage of Jubilee candidates.

Jubilee currently has the Senator and Women Representative position, in addition to 10 MP seats. The Opposition, on the other hand has the Governor’s position, 7 MP seats, and 43 MCAs.

The NASA affiliate parties have in the past month differed publicly on the joint nominations criteria.

The technical committee that had been tasked with resolving the issues ended in a stalemate after talks collapsed due to reported hard-line positions by some of the representatives.