Ministry of ICT

The free access of information and constant communication of the government with its citizenry is key pillar of good governance. On the other hand, Information, Communication Technology (ICT) is recognised as one of the key contributors of economic growth. This ministry wil therefore play a key role in driving the economy while at the same time ensuring open and good governance.

This ministry is responsible for policy formulation for the telecommunication, broadcasting and postal sectors. The ministry also provides consulting services and market survellance for the rest of government on ICT and ICT equipment and infrastructure.

Other Key Officers: 

Head of ICT
Mr. Abner M. Abaga

Head of Administration
Mr. Henry Mungasia

Head of Information
Mr. Ezekiel Mutua

Head of Planning
Guantai Kirimi

Head of Accounts
Catherine Shiroko

Head of Finance
Anthony Mugambi

Head of Human Resource Management
Miriam Gitau

Head of Internal Audit
Julius Akicho

Head of Supply Chain Management
Stephen Mwenda

Head of ACU
Christine Bala

Head of Legal Unit
Charity Kagiri

Head of Human Resource Development
Winnie Macharia

Head of Public Communication
Mary Ombara


  • Brand Kenya Board
  • Communications Commission of Kenya
  • Kenya Broadcasting Corporation
  • Kenya Information Communication Technology Board
  • Kenya Institute of Mass Communication
  • Kenya Year Book Editorial Board
  • Konza Technopolis Development Authority
  • National Communications Secretariat
  • Postal Corporation of Kenya
  • Safaricom
  • Telkom Kenya


  • Broadcasting Policy
  • Development of National Communications Capacity and Infrastructure
  • Dissemination of Public Information
  • ICT Training and Standards, Development and Administration
  • Information communication Technology (ICT) Policy
  • Language Policy Management
  • Promotion of e-Government
  • Public Communications
  • Provision of the Public Relations Services
  • Promotion o Software Development Industry
  • Fiber Optics Infrastructure Management
  • Policy on Software Licensing Regime
  • ICT Agency (e-Government, Kenya ICT Board and Government Information Technology Services)
  • Provision of ICT Consulting Services to other Government Departments
  • Provision of Advisory Services on Acquisition of ICT and Telecommunication Services and Equipment to Government Ministries and Departments
  • Telecommunication Services
  • Development of National Communication Capacity and Infrastructure


Telposta Towers, Kenyatta Ave. Koinange Street
P.O Box 30025-00100,
Nairobi Kenya
Telephone: +254-20-4920000 / 1


Victor Kyalo

Eng. Victor Kyalo is a Communications engineer with a wide experience in systems design, integration and project management. He has been involved in the information systems networking/telecommunications for the last 25 years both in deployment of solutions and in training at the University level.

Sammy Itemere

Sammy has a wealth of diverse experience in Retail and Enterprise banking segments and has worked for Barclays Bank, KCB Kenya and South Sudan, Credit Bank and lastly Imperial Bank.

He holds a BA in Economics and an MBA (Marketing) both from the University of Pune.

Subscribe to Ministry of ICT