19 Counties Likely to Face Post-Election Violence - NCIC

  • The National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) has published a report highlighting 19 volatile counties that should be monitored closely in the run up to next years General Election.

    NCIC has earmarked Nairobi, Kisumu, Mombasa, Nakuru, Eldoret, Narok, Kericho, Kisii, Homabay, Isiolo, Turkana, Bungoma, Kiambu, Kilifi, Lamu, Migori, Baringo and Pokot as “problematic” Counties.

    NCIC Chairman Francis Ole Kaparo said that his commission had identified the 19 counties as possible election violence hot-spots in 2017.

    "We are going to be very aggressive on hate speech because we want to ensure there is peace before, during and after the election," Kaparo told the Star on Monday.

    Nonetheless, the government through Spokesman Eric Kiraithe has said that it's electoral plans would not condone any form of chaos during the electioneering period.

    "The government will have an inter-agency approach in managing chaos during the election. We know there are those who want to cause chaos but we will dialogue with them because all Kenyans must enjoy equal rights and freedoms in the constitution," Kiraithe said.

    Counties in the NCIC list are areas that have previous history with violence such as Eldoret, Kisumu, Naivasha, Nakuru, Mombasa and Nairobi that were hardly hit during the 2007 post-election skirmishes, in which more than 1000 people were killed while another 600,000 displaced.

    NCIC will now focus on counties likely to have tight contests in the gubernatorial and senatorial elections.

    The country is experiencing renewed political activity as it gears up for next years polls.