14 Political Bigwigs Who Own Kenyan Media Houses

  • A majority of the mainstream media that Kenyans follow is either owned by or has owners closely affiliated to politicians.

    The Kenyatta family has an ownership stake in Media Max limited which owns K24 TV, Kameme TV, Kameme FM, Milele FM, Meru FM, Mayian FM, Emoo FM, and People Daily newspaper.

    The Moi family, on the other hand, has an ownership stake in Standard Group Limited which owns KTN Home, KTN News, Radio Maisha, The Standard, and The Nairobian newspapers.

    S. K. Macharia a known political commentator and previous parliamentary candidate, owns Royal Media Services, one of the biggest media houses in Kenya. It has Citizen TV, Inooro TV, and 14 radio stations.

    Nam Lolwe FM is owned by Neural Digital Broadcaster Limited, which is linked to former MP Jakoyo Midiwo, who is also Raila Odinga’s cousin, while Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu owns two radio stations namely Mbaitu FM and Syokimau FM.

    Garissa Senator Yusuf Haji owns Frontier Radio and Radio Salaam. Mvita MP Abdulswamad Shariff Nassir controls Radio Rahma while Baite TV is owned by Meru County Women Rep Kawira Mwangaza.

    Zablon Mathenge, a Senate aspirant for Meru County, owns Mwariama TV, Mwariama FM, and Furaha FM.

    Mururi FM is owned by former MP and ex-Nacada Chairman John Mututho while former Foreign Affairs Minister and immediate High Commissioner to Tanzania Chirau Ali Makwere owns Kaya FM

    Kiprono Kittony, the son of Zipporah Kittony, who is a relative of former President Daniel Moi, has an ownership stake in Radio Africa Group. The group owns The Star newspaper, Kiss TV, and 6 radio stations which include Kis100 and Classic 105.

    Ghetto Radio is owned by Ghetto Radio Foundation, whose Chairperson is Maria Mbeneka, the First Lady of Laikipia County

    The newest entrant in the media ownership is Kirinyaga Woman Rep Purity Ngirici who owns Mt. Kenya TV and Iganjo FM.