Uhuru's Security Lapse in Kajiado Forces Transfer of 4 County Commissioners

  • Body guards assigned to President Uhuru Kenyatta control the crowd Twitter
  • Interior Principal Secretary Karanja Kibicho, on Monday, announced that four County Commissioners would be transferred as a result of the security lapse at a presidential event on February 3.

    According to reports, the lapse occurred during President Uhuru Kenyatta's arrival from Arusha, through Namanga border, and when he later toured Kajiado to oversee various projects.

    The affected county commissioners included David Kipkemei (Kajiado), Joshua Nkanatha (Nakuru), Erastus Mbui (Trans Nzoia), and deputy commissioner John Opondo (Naivasha).

    Kipkemei was summoned to the Office of the President, Harambee House, where he was informed of his mistake as he awaits new assignments.

    Interior Principal Secretary Karanja Kibicho

    He was replaced by Nakuru’s Nkanatha while Trans Nzoia’s Mbui was named the new Nakuru County Commissioner.

    Mbui was moved to head Nakuru while deputy commissioner Opondo replaced him as the acting Trans Nzoia boss.
    Naivasha deputy County boss, Opondo, was named the acting Trans Nzoia boss.

    On January 9, Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i announced changes in his ministry affecting top secretaries and redeployed Regional Commissioners (RC) and County Commissioners in changes aimed at enhancing service delivery.

    The changes are part of ongoing restructuring processes in the provincial administration. The former provincial administration was restructured to accommodate the new commissioners.

    This followed the ushering of the 2010 constitution where the RCs replaced Provincial Commissioners in the new dispensation. Their function is to chair and coordinate national government issues in their regions including security matters.

    Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'í