Uhuru Restructures Matiang'i's Ministry

  • President Uhuru Kenyatta, on Thursday, reorganised government ministries. 

    According to an Executive Order dated August 22, that the Department of Immigration at the Interior Ministry has been merged with the Interior Affairs docket.

    Previously, the Interior Ministry had three state departments, namely the Immigration and Citizen Services, Correctional Services and the Interior Affairs.

    CS Fred Matiang'i has been added more duties such as co-ordinating the delivery of national priorities and flagship programmes as well as maintaining national cohesion and values.

    President Uhuru Kenyatta with Deputy President William Ruto, Interior CS Fred Matiang'i and other government officials

    Uhuru has also moved the Irrigation docket from the Ministry of Agriculture to Water which will be renamed to Ministry of Water & Sanitation and Irrigation.

    CS Kiunjuri's ministry will have to drop the term 'irrigation' from its name. 

    Previously, it was referred to as the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation. 

    The Ministry of Public Service, Youth & Gender has been mandated to conduct public service performance management and monitoring.

    The Ministry of East African Community & Regional Development had been given the additional function to provide Kenya - South Sudan liaison services. 

    "There is a compelling need to orientate the scope and mandate of various ministries, state departments and state agencies, to expedite the ongoing implementation of the transformative vision for a better Kenya espoused as the Big Four Agenda.

    "It has become necessary to effect changes in the structure of the Executive, to embed operational enhancements in ministries, state departments and state agencies," read the Executive Order.

    A screenshot of President Uhuru Kenyatta's Executive Order dated August 22, 2019
    A screenshot of President Uhuru Kenyatta's Executive Order dated August 22, 2019