Big Names Missing in Ruto’s Party Officials List

Deputy President William Ruto in Migori on Saturday, September 25, 2021
Deputy President William Ruto in Migori on Saturday, September 25, 2021

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA), a party associated with Deputy President William Ruto, has steered clear of appointing vocal leaders in its leadership team.

The party, which is a breakaway wing of the ruling Jubilee Party, has listed 31 persons as party officials. However, some of the big names that have been at the forefront of selling the DP’s State House ambition are conspicuously missing.

The party officials will be led by former Machakos Senator and a one-time Kalonzo Musyoka’s strongman, Johnstone Muthama who is the Chairman. He will be deputised by trade unionist and Kenya National Union of Nurses Secretary General, Seth Panyako.

Senator Johnstone Muthama during a past press event.
Senator Johnstone Muthama during a past press event.

Mr Ruto, who is seeking the country’s top seat and hopes to succeed his boss, President Uhuru Kenyatta, will task the party officials with the primary responsibility of ensuring the outfit’s agenda is steered forward.

A section of leaders who have been leading UDA planning meetings and campaigns and are viewed as his inner circle, have not made it to the list.

They include former Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar, economist David Ndii, political analyst Edward Kisiangani, and former Kakamega Senator Bonny Khalwale, have, however, not made it to the list of the Wheelbarrow party officials.

The party, however, in its appointment of officials, has brought on board seasoned but dejected politicians. The party has appointed one-time Teso South Member of Parliament Mary Emase as the Deputy Treasurer in charge of strategy.

It has also appointed the Kibaki-era-Minister for Agriculture, Kipruto Arap Kirwa, as the Deputy Chairman. He will now serve under Muthama.

Former Raila Odinga’s Campaign Manager and one-time Kibra Parliamentary candidate, Eliud Owalo, has been appointed the party’s Deputy Secretary General. He will now serve under Veronica Maina, who was appointed Secretary General.

The former Mugirango South Member of Parliament, Omingo Magara, who also served as the Executive Director of the Centre for Multiparty Democracy (CMD), has been appointed as party’s National Treasurer.

Kacheliba Member of Parliament Mark Lemunokol has also been appointed as the party’s Secretary for Devolution and Intergovernmental Relations.

Vocal elected politicians, among them Senators Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet), Susan Kihika (Nakuru), Mithika Linturi (Meru), Samson Cherangei (Nandi), Kithure Kindiki (Tharaka Nithi) and MPs - Ndindi Nyoro (Kiharu), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Kimani Ichungwah (Kikuyu), Rigathi Gachagua (Mathira) and Purity Wangui Ngirici (Kirinyaga) - all steered clear of the party positions.

Here is the full list of UDA party officials as deposited with the office of the Registrar of Political Parties and as adopted from The Nation

  • Secretary General Veronica Nduati Maina.

  • Deputy Secretary General strategy Eliud Owalo.
  • Deputy secretary General programmes Daniel Sigei.
  • Chairman Johnston Muthama.
  • Deputy Chairman - Former Cabinet Minister Kipruto Kirwa.
  • Deputy Chairman - Kenya National Union of Nurses (Knun) Secretary-General Seth Panyako.
  • Deputy Chairman - Mr Nicholas Marete.
  • National Treasurer James Omingo Magara.
  • Deputy Treasurer Former Teso South MP Mary Emase – Strategy.
  • Deputy Treasurer Daniel Rotich – Operations.
  • Deputy Treasurer Joshua Kanake Mugo Programmes.
  • National Organizing Secretary - Karissa Nzai.
  • National Organising Secretary Charles Chebayi – Strategy.
  • National Organising Secretary Jamuhuru Guyo Warda – Operations.
  • Secretary Devolution and Intergovernmental Relations – Kacheliba MP Mark Lemunokol.
  • Secretary Youth Affairs, Sports and Culture – Mary Kabiru.
  • Secretary Tourism, Environment and Natural Resources – Surum Korema.
  • Secretary SMEs, Trade and Industrialization - Franklin Ndii.
  • Secretary for Transport and Infrastructure - Cecilia Asinyen.
  •  Secretary for Education – Robert Theuri.
  • Secretary for Women Affairs – Cecilia Wairimu.
  • Secretary for Information, Communication and Technology – Diana Mwangangi.
  • Secretary for Labour and Social Services – Lawrence Ngacha.
  • Secretary for Lands, Housing and Urban Planning – Ronald Shako.
  • Secretary for Persons with Disability – Pauline Lenguris.
  • Secretary for Health – Leah Jelagat.
  • Secretary for Legal Affairs – Edward Kamau.
  • Secretary for Water and Sanitation – Elina Mapenzi.
  • Secretary for Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries – Julius Mathenge.
  • Secretary for Energy, Petroleum and Mining – Francis Ngotho.
  • Secretary for Economic Affairs and Planning – Oscar Igaida. 
UDA's Secretary-General Veronica Maina addressing members
UDA's Secretary-General Veronica Maina addressing members