Central Region Misses Out Govt Millions as Senate Approves Equalisation Fund

Kahiga and Kang'ata
Governors Mutahi Kahiga (Nyeri)and Irungu Kang'ata (Murang'a)
Council of Governors

The Senate on Wednesday passed 7 bills including The Equalisation Fund Appropriation Bill, 2023. 

Equalisation Fund which established a Ksh10.8 billion kitty is meant to facilitate the provision of basic services including water, roads, health facilities and electricity, particularly in counties that have been historically marginalised by previous governments. 

Some 33 counties were approved to receive the windfall which will supplement national and county government initiatives to uplift marginalised areas to the extent necessary to bring the quality of those services in those areas to the level generally enjoyed by the rest of the nation. 

Despite Central region parliamentarians clamouring for an equitable share of resources and faulting the Equalisation Fund, lawmakers from marginalised regions have successfully lobbied to have their regions enjoy the benefits of the kitty as envisoned by the drafters of the 2010 Constitution.

Members of Parliament attending President William Ruto's State of Nation address on November 9, 2023.
Members of Parliament attending President William Ruto's State of Nation address on November 9, 2023.
Musalia Mudavadi

Out of 34 constituencies in the region, all were left out except Ithanga Ward in Gatanga Constituency which will receive Ksh5 million. 

Counties in Nyanza and North Eastern were some of the largest beneficiaries of the fund. 

In Kisumu, a total of Ksh25 million will be shared between the Muhoroni and Nyando Constituencies while in Siaya, a total of Ksh33 million will be shared between Bondo, Gem and Rarieda constituencies. 

In a further win for the Nyanza region, Homa Bay Town, Ndhiwa, Suba North and Suba South received Ksh138 million to share while Migori: Kuria West, Nyatike, Suna West and Uriri received Ksh187 million. 

All constituencies in the defunct North Eastern region received part of the Equalisation Fund. 

The largest beneficiaries of the Fund include; Turkana (Ksh1.2 billion), West Pokot (Ksh1 billion), Narok (Ksh812 million), Mandera (Ksh793 million) and Wajir (Ksh768 million). 

Counties in Upper Eastern which are part of the larger Mt Kenya region that received the equalisation fund include Meru and Tharaka Nithi. 

Constituencies that will benefit in Meru include; Igembe South, South Imenti, and Tigania East while in Tharaka Nithi beneficiaries will be Maara and Tharaka constituencies will receive the equalisation fund. 

Meru will receive Ksh31 million while Tharaka Nithi will share Ksh46 million among the two identified constituencies. 

Kenyans Embed URL