VIDEO: 3 Politicians Clash at Police Station

  • By Benjamin Muriuki on Sunday, 28 February 2016 - 2:46pm
    election fever
    Nominated Senator Elizabeth Ongoro and Embakasi South Member of Parliament Mohamed Sumra confront Embakasi North MP James Gakuya at Kariobangi police station Youtube
  • Drama ensued on Saturday after three legistators clashed at a police station in Nairobi, over the ongoing voter registration exercise by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

    Nominated Senator Elizabeth Ongoro and Embakasi South Member of Parliament Mohamed Sumra confronted Embakasi North MP James Gakuya at Kariobangi police station, claiming that there was mass trasnfer of voters from unknown sources to register in the area.

    The Embakasi North legislator was taken to task to explain why voters were being transported from unknown sources using matatus to come and register at marura primary school.

    Gakuya, however, downplayed the claims saying that the two Opposition lawmakers were meddling in voter registration in his area.

    Residents in the area had reportedly stormed Marura Primary School and seized Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) kits which they took to the Kariobangi police station, where they decried irregularity in the exercise.

    Police and IEBC officials were forced to intervene to save the situation, before the registration centre was relocated and new officers posted in the area.

    Read Also: IEBC Explains CORD's Registration Mix-Up Claims

    According to Senator Ongoro, registration was being carried out in private areas instead of public points. She claimed that some people were being registered in pubs while others in private houses.

    On the other hand, MP Sumra hit out at IEBC officials claiming that they were being bribed by Members of County Assembly to abet irregularities in the area.

    IEBC official Chrisphine Owiye, condemned the alleged mass transfer of voters, noting that the officials carrying out registration in the area had been swaped and replaced with new ones.

    Watch video courtesy of K24:



Celebrity Birthdays   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved