6 Presidential Candidates Demand Equality to Attend Presidential Debate

  • By Rodgers Omondi on Sunday, 16 July 2017 - 2:30pm
    DO IT!
    2017 Presidential debate venue TWITTER
  • Six Presidential candidates on Sunday announced that they will not participate in the 2017 debate if the format is not changed.

    The Candidates; Dr Ekuru Aukot, Prof Michael Wainaina, Cyrus Jirongo, Japheth Kaluyu, Joe Nyaga and Abduba Dida noted that should the committee fail to amend the debate format to create equality, then they will have no option but to snub the event.

    "Should you therefore still be committed to this discriminatory approach (two tier presidential debates), the undersigned being duly cleared Presidential candidates will have no option but not to participate in what is clearly unconstitutional, illegal and discriminatory," the letter read in part.

    The Presidential aspirants further noted that the constitution explains that all Presidential candidates are equal and should not be discriminated.

    "No opinion, view, poll or even perception supersedes the Constitution of the Republic of Kenya.

    "Article 137 treats all Presidential candidates and their running mates as equal before the Constitution and the law,"  they stated.

    The new announcement puts the debate organizers in a limbo as President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition Leader Raila Odinga had announced earlier that they might not participate.

    The Presidential debates have been scheduled for Monday 24th July 2017 whereas the running-mate contest was set for Monday 17th July 2017.

    Read Also: 3 Journalists Who Will Host 2017 Presidential Debate Named

    Here is the letter from the six Presidential candidates:


Kenyans.co.ke   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved