25 Incumbent Governors Set to Go Home After 2017 Election

  • 25 out of the 47 incumbent governors are set to go home after the just concluded General Election, with new entrants ready to occupy their seats.

    Some of the incumbent Governors facing defeat going by the IEBC provisional results include;

    1. Baringo County

    Governor Benjamin Cheboi who lost in the Jubilee Party nominations has now been replaced by Stanley Kiptis (Jubilee).

    2. Bomet County

    The County will now have one of the first female governors in the country Joyce Laboso (Jubilee) who will replace Governor Isaac Ruto (Chama Cha Mashinani).

    3. Bungoma County

    Governor Kenneth Lusaka (Jubilee) has been sent packing with Wycliffe Wangamati (Ford-K) set to take over as the new county boss.

    4. Garissa County

    Governor Nadhif Jamaa (ODM) has been shown the door. The County will now be headed by Ali Korane (Jubilee).

    5. Isiolo County

    The outgoing Senator Mohammed Kuti (Independent) will be the next Governor after incumbent Godana Doyo (Party of Development and Reforms) was defeated in the elections.

    6. Kajiado County

    Former Cabinet Secretary Joseph Ole Lenku (Jubilee) will be the next county boss taking over from incumbent David Ole Nkedianye (ODM).

    7. Kiambu County

    Kabete Member of Parliament Ferdinand Waititu (Jubilee) secured a landslide victory and will be the next Kiambu boss. Incumbent Governor William Kabogo (Independent) has already conceded defeat.

    8. Kirinyaga County

    Former Devolution CS Anne Waiguru (Jubilee) beat her closest challenger Martha Karua (Narc-Kenya) to secure the seat and will now take over from incumbent Joseph Ndathi.

    9. Lamu County

    Governor Issa Timmamy (ANC) faced the axe in the concluded elections and the county is set to welcome a new governor Fahim Twaha (Jubilee).

    10. Kitui County

    Former Cabinet Secretary Charity Ngilu (NARC) will take over as the Kitui County boss after sending home incumbent Julius Malombe (Wiper).

    11. Kisumu County

    Prof Anyang' Nyong'o (ODM) is set to be the next Kisumu boss after beating incumbent Jack Ranguma (Independent).

    12. Laikipia County

    Governor Joshua Iringu (Jubilee) was sent home by new entrant Ndiritu Muriithi (Independent).

    13. Marsabit County

    Muhammed Ali (Jubilee) is set to be the new Governor after thrashing incumbent Governor Ukur Yattani (Frontier Alliance Party).

    14. Meru County

    Vocal Governor Peter Munya (PNU) is facing the axe after Meru Senator Kiraitu Murungi (Jubilee) defeated him in Tuesday's polls.

    15. Nairobi County

    Senator Mike Sonko (Jubilee) defeated incumbent Governor Evans Kidero (ODM) and will now take over the City County leadership.

    16. Nakuru County

    Governor Kinuthia Mbugua who lost in the Jubilee party nominations will be replaced by Lee Kinyanjui (Jubilee) who emerged victorious in Tuesday's elections.

    17. Nandi County

    The County is set to have the youngest Governor in Kenya after Stephen Sang (Jubilee) won the Tuesday election. He will now take over from Cleophas Lagat.

    18. Nyeri County

    Samuel Wamathai (Independent)lost his seat and will be replaced by Patrick Gakuru (Jubilee).

    19. Taita Taveta

    Incumbent Governor John Mruttu (Independent) will no longer be the County boss after Granton Samboja (Wiper) won the elections.

    20. Tharaka Nithi County

    Governor Samuel Ragwa (Narc-Kenya) lost his seat and the County will now be headed by Onesmus Njuki (Jubilee).

    21. Vihiga County

    Wilbert Ottichilo (ODM) is the governor-elect after beating Governor Moses Akaranga (Progressive Party of Kenya).

    22. Wajir County

    Mohamed Mahmud (Jubilee) will take over the county leadership after beating incumbent Ahmed Abdullahi (ODM).

    23. West Pokot County

    Senator John Lonyangapuo (KANU) defeated incumbent Simon Kachapin (Jubilee) and will now take over the county leadership.

    24. Nyandarua County

    Francis Kimemia (Jubilee) is set to be the next governor after a massive win in the Tuesday election. He will take over from Daniel Waithaka Mwangi (Independent).

    25. Tana River County

    Hussein Dado (Jubilee) will be replaced by Dhadho Godhana (ODM).

    Editor's Note: The results are subject to change based on the final declaration but all indications show that the above candidates are losing.