Justin Muturi and Ken Lusaka Nominated as Jubilee Names Candidates for Speaker, Majority Leader and Chief Whip Seats

The Jubilee Party has reached an agreement on its line-up for the top seats in the National Assembly and Senate.

Following a Jubilee Parliamentary Group meeting held today at State House, Nairobi, the President Uhuru Kenyatta—led party agreed to front Justin Muturi and former Bungoma Governor Ken Lusaka for the National Assembly and Senate speaker seats respectively.

Ekwee Ethuro, who was the Senate Speaker, has been ditched by the Jubilee Party but he maintains he will still vie for the seat on Thursday.

The nomination of Lusaka to replace Ethuro is seen as a reward for his bold and risky political move to ditch the Opposition for the Jubilee Party. The former Bungoma Governor lost in the recent elections after vying on a Jubilee ticket despite his area being an Opposition turf.

The Jubilee line-up will be as follows in the two houses:

National Assembly:

Speaker – Justin Muturi (Former Speaker)

Deputy Speaker – Moses Cheboi (Kuresoi North MP)

Majority Leader – Aden Duale (Garissa Town MP)

Deputy Majority Leader – Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache MP)

Chief Whip – Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East MP)

Deputy Whip – Cecily Mbarire (Lost in Embu Governorship Race)


Speaker – Ken Lusaka (Former Bungoma Governor)

Deputy Speaker – Kithure Kindiki (Tharaka Nithi Senator)

Majority leader – Kipchumba Murkomen (Elgeyo Marakwet Senator)

Deputy Majority leader – Fatuma Dulo (Isiolo Senator)

Chief Whip – Susan Kihika (Nakuru Senator)

Deputy Chief Whip - Irungu Kang'ata (Murang’a Senator)


During the Jubilee Party Parliamentary Group Meeting, President Kenyatta was categorical that the nominees are the party’s favourites and urged members to support them on Thursday during the first sitting of the 12th Parliament.

Considering the Jubilee Party has the majority in both Houses, the nominees are somehow assured of clinching the positions.

The voting for the seats is expected to happen tomorrow after the legislators take oath of office.