Tuju Reveals What He Will do if Uhuru Fails to Appoint Him as CS

  • Jubilee Secretary-General Raphael Tuju stated that he would continue to serve in his current position in the party if President Uhuru Kenyatta does not appoint him as a Cabinet Secretary.

    On Saturday Mr Tuju noted that Kenyans should focus on other matters and allow the President to choose men and women he deems fit to serve in his cabinet.

    "We have a tendency of believing propaganda so much. These baseless speculations should stop and let the President do his roles. Anyway as a party we do not want to be part of Media speculations," Tuju stated.

    When asked whether he had a clue if he is among the President's appointees, Tuju only stated that he was ready to serve Kenyans in whatever capacity.

    [caption caption="Jubilee Secretary-General Raphael Tuju"][/caption]

    "It is the prerogative of the President to choose whom he wants to be part of his team. If he considers me as part of them so be it but for now I take all these as mere rumours," he noted.

    It had earlier been alleged that Tuju was among key personalities that President Uhuru was considering to pick for Cabinet slots amid efforts to dilute NASA leader Raila Odinga's support base in the Nyanza region.

    Former Karachuonyo MP James Rege, former Rongo MP Dalmas Otieno, and former Teso South MP Mary Emase, former Meru governor Peter Munya and former Taita Taveta Women Rep Joyce Lay were also alleged to be considered for CS position.

    His remarks come after pressure has been mounted at the President to finish appointing his cabinet two weeks after he started the process.

    In an address to the nation January 5, President Uhuru retained Cabinet secretaries Fred Matiang’i (Interior), Charles Keter (Energy), Najib Balala (Tourism), Henry Rotich (Treasury), Joe Mucheru (ICT) and James Macharia (Transport).

    [caption caption="President Uhuru Kenyatta "][/caption]

    He also appointed new Cabinet secretaries who include Director of Public Prosecution Keriako Tobiko, former Marsabit governor Ukur Yatani and former Turkana Senator John Munyes.