14 Counties Which Used Zero Money on Development Projects

  • A financial report released by the Controller of Budget Agnes Odhiambo shows that 14 counties spent zero money on any development projects. 

    The report, which covers a period of six months, shows that the counties used their monies in other activities.

    The 14 Counties include Kirinyaga, Kisumu, Embu, Garissa, Meru, Nakuru, Nandi, Nyandarua and Nyeri Counties.

    [caption caption="The Council of Governors (CoG)"][/caption]

    Other counties affected by the zero expenditure on development are Siaya, Taita-Taveta, Tharaka-Nithi, Vihiga, and West Pokot.

    The counties spent funds allocated on recurrent expenditure including paying salaries, sitting allowances, and trips of county officials and MCAs.

    For instance, Kirinyaga had Ksh1.25 billion at its disposal during the period of which Ksh1.49 billion went on recurrent expenditure.

    Nakuru County, on the other hand, received Ksh4.51 billion of which it spent Ksh3.03 billion on recurrent expenditure.

    Counties are legally required to allocate at least 30 percent of their budget to development - a directive which several counties are yet to comply including Busia at 28.5 percent, Kiambu (29.8) and Kericho (29.1).

    The counties with the highest allocation for development include Mandera at 50.3 percent, Kwale (49.3) and Kakamega (48).

    [caption caption="A road under construction"][/caption]

    The Controller of Budget attributed the slow absorption of development funds to delays in disbursement of funds by the National Treasury which in the process hurts job creation, infrastructure projects and negatively impacts on economic growth.