Two-Shift System to Be Introduced for Nairobi Civil Servants

  • Civil servants will soon have to work on two different shifts following a new measure introduced by the Nairobi Regeneration Project steering committee.

    The move is aimed at decongesting the Nairobi Central Business District (CBD) and easing traffic snarl-ups experienced in the city.

    A memo issued by the National Assembly director of administrative services Douglas Ng’ang’a to public servants at Parliament indicates that plans are already underway.

    "The Ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs in collaboration with Nairobi Regeneration Area 5 Transport working Group-an intergovernmental/multiagency team is developing modalities of determining split working hours for public service," the memo read in part.

    [caption caption="President Uhuru Kenyatta signs the visitors' book at City Hall during a past call on Governor Sonko"][/caption]

    Mr Ng'anga explained that the directive had been issued by the Ministry of Public Service, Gender and Youth Affairs.

    He reported that the ministry aimed to modulate "reporting and leaving time to and from work and ultimately decongesting Nairobi central business district (CBD) in order to promote ease of doing business."

    The memo goes on to request the government workers to provide information regarding the routes they use to get to their workstations to facilitate the change.

    "In order for the ministry to make informed decisions, information in regard to the number of public servants in Nairobi and routes they normally use to and from work is required.

    "In this regard, all staff are required to fill in the attached form to enable us to generate this data and forward it accordingly," the memo outlined.

    The employees have been offered forms with the options of the following routes: Mombasa Road, Thika Road, Waiyaki Way, Ngong Road, Limuru Road, Lang’ata Road, Jogoo Road and Juja Road.

    The Nairobi regeneration team was commissioned by President Uhuru Kenyatta and has incorporated various ministries in the execution of its mandate and is co-chaired by Governor Mike Sonko and Tourism CS Najib Balala.

    The team facilitated the issuance of 52,000 title deeds to landowners in Nairobi County in a public event hosted by Embakasi East Member of Parliament (MP) Babu Owino at Jacaranda Grounds. 

    [caption caption="President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto issue title deeds to land owners in Nairobi in May 2018"][/caption]