Parts of the Country Scheduled for Blackout on Thursday

  • Kenya Power on Wednesday released a list of areas in the country that would experience a scheduled blackout on Thursday.

    In a statement seen by, parts of Nairobi, Machakos, Nakuru, Uasin Gishu, Kisii and Mombasa counties would not have power from 9 am to 5 pm.

    The blackout would affect Parklands area; "Avenue hospital, Ita Rd Batubatu Rd, Highridge Shopping Centre, Presidential Escort, Oval, Nakumatt Ukay, Oshwal and adjacent customers.

    "Part of Riverside, Lavington: Riverside Drive, Netherlands Embassy, Office Park, 9th Riverside, Riverside Gardens, Riverside Drive, Riverside Lane and Lavington, Kabeserian area," read the statement in part.

    [caption caption="Kenya Power engineers fixing a transformer"][/caption]

    In Machakos county, Kathiani area and Machakos Teachers Training College will be affected while in Nakuru, Subukia town and the whole of Mai Mahiu will experience the 8-hour blackout.

    Also in the list is Pioneer and Naiberi area in Uasin Gishu county and Kegogo, Isecha and Iranda areas in Kisii County.

    Mombasa county has not been spared either as Tarmal and Steel makers areas will have to use alternative sources of power during the blackout period.

    The outages were attributed to maintenance work on power lines to improve the quality and reliability of supply to the mentioned areas.

    Here's the statement by Kenya Power with the full list of areas that will experience the blackout.