DPP Haji's Moves Earn Him Top Award

  • Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji was the proud recipient of the 2019 Leadership Integrity Award given to him by the Action for Transparency, the Kenyan subsidiary of Transparency International.

    Taking to social media on Tuesday, December 10, the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions announced that he had been honored to receive the award from the international rights watchdog.

    "DPP Noordin Haji has received the 2019 Leadership Integrity Award from Action for Transparency, Kenya, for his integrity, exemplary leadership and strategic direction for his office," the ODPP posted on Twitter.

    DPP Noordin Haji's trophy after winning the

    Action for Transparency (A4T) is a pioneering project that fights corruption and mismanagement of government funds by putting the power to change in the hands of citizens.

    The watchdog agency announced that the award was given to the DPP over his acts of integrity and demonstration of exemplary leadership in the war against corruption.

    They also announced that he was feted for his personal contribution in offering strategic direction as a state officer-in-charge of public prosecutions.

    DPP Haji dedicated his win to the team in his office who he stated had been of great support in his concerted effort against graft and in pursuit of justice.

    Other exemplary Kenyans who won on the night included activist Renny Mwema Mackenzie for his personal contribution in preparation and submission of Petitions and Memoranda and pointing out illegalities in the budget estimates for the Financial Year 2018/2019.

    Former Auditor General Edward Ouko was also feted for offering dedicated leadership during his tenure at the Office of the Auditor General.

    The Judicial Integrity award went to Justice Mumbi Ngugi while the Whistleblower Awards went to the Mara-Heist Whistleblowers, for their individual and collective significant role in whistleblowing on the Maasai Mara University corruption scandal.

    Mara Heist whistleblowers posing with their certificates after being awarded the Whistleblowers award by the