23 People Charged in Court for Violating 8PM Curfew

  • A police officer carrying out a security operation
    A police officer carrying out a security operation
  • Police officers on Saturday night, March 27, arrested 23 individuals who were allegedly found flouting the new curfew protocol in Wangige town, Kiambu County.

    The suspects were arrested after they were found loitering outside a few minutes after 8 PM in contravention of the new lockdown measures announced by President Uhuru Kenyatta on Friday, March 26, to curb the rising cases of Covid-19 infections across the country.

    The third wave of the pandemic has seen the government put into place stringent measures to curb the spread of the virus.

    President Uhuru Kenyatta gives his 15th Presidential address on the Covid-19 pandemic at State House, Nairobi on March 26, 2021.

    The president imposed strict regulations on five counties; Kiambu, Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, and Nakuru.

    In these five counties, curfew hours begin at 8 PM - 4 AM.

    Among those arrested were bar owners, bodaboda operators, matatu operators, motorists all of whom will be arraigned in court on Monday, March 28.

    During the operation, the police impounded 11 motorcycles and 10 vehicles.

    This operation will continue until it is deemed fit to stop it. This is not an ordinary time, it’s an extraordinary time and it calls for extraordinary measures so we will do what it takes to make sure we win this war,” said the OCPD Kabete Sub County, Anthony Maina.

    Meanwhile, Nairobi County announced that it had closed all government offices offering non-essential services for 30 days as the Ministry of health records 884 new Covid-19 cases countrywide.

    Reports indicate that the order to close the offices was informed by the recent announcement issued by President Uhuru Kenyatta indicating that the county accounted for 57 percent of all the positive cases in Kenya.

    In the numbers released on Sunday, March 28, Nairobi was the leading county with 509 cases followed by Kiambu 99, Uasin Gishu 59, Machakos 48, Nakuru 46, Kajiado 38, Meru 13, Kitui 12, Nandi 11, Kilifi 9, Elgeyo Marakwet 5, Marsabit 5, Bungoma 4, Murang’a 3, Vihiga 3, Kakamega 2, Laikipia 2, Nyandarua 2, and Taita1.

    A road block in Nairobi
    A road block in Nairobi
    arrest suspect