Govt Officials Skip Ruto's IBEC Meeting

  • drfefw
    President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy, William Ruto, holding a conversation.
  • Government officials affiliated with President Uhuru Kenyatta and Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party leader Raila Odinga, on Monday, November 22, skipped a high-level intergovernmental meeting chaired by Deputy President William Ruto. 

    The Intergovernmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC), which incorporates the Cabinet Secretaries, the Council of Governors Finance and Budget Committee and other players in the devolved system was chaired by Ruto at his official residence in Karen, Nairobi.

    IBEC members who missed the meeting included Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani. The CS had earlier stated that he would not attend the 15th ordinary session of IBEC and was represented by Permanent Secretary Dr Julius Muia.

    DP William Ruto (far left) chairing the 15th Session of the IBEC meeting in his office in Karen
    William Ruto

    "I will be out of the country, but my officers will be there," he explained.

    Other CSs who failed to honour Ruto's invite include George Magoha (Education), Peter Munya (Agriculture), James Macharia (Transport). Macharia stated that he would be accompanying the Head of State on his trip to South Africa. 

    Devolution CS Charles Keter, a longtime associate of the DP, was the only member of the Cabinet who showed up.

    Governors present included the Chair of the Council of Governors Martin Wambora, Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Prof Anyang’ Nyong'o (Kisumu), Sospeter Ojamoong (Busia), Josphat Nanok (Turkana) Hillary Barchok (Bomet), Stanley Kiptis (Baringo), Paul Chepkwony (Kericho) and Nderitu Mureithi (Laikipia).

    The Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakang'o, and the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) Chairperson Jane Kiringai, were also present. Notably, Auditor-General Nancy Gathungu was also absent from the meeting.

    While speaking to a local daily, Mueirthi, who doubles as the Chair of the Council of Governors Finance and Budget Committee, had stated that leaders would still attend the meeting although they did not support the DP's presidential bid. He stressed the importance of the IBEC meeting, adding that it would solve the division of revenue question.

    "There has been no consensus between our council, the National Treasury and the CRA. Chaired by the DP, it brings both levels of government together to ensure we are coordinated in running the country's finances," he stated.

    In a statement released shortly after the meeting, the deputy president indicated that they sought to define and profile bills owed by county governments as well as how payments can be fast-tracked.

    Ruto announced that after the discussion and consideration of several factors, the council agreed to have last year's revenue allocation of Ksh370 billion to be used again this year. He added that Treasury would be disbursing the monies to the county in full.

    From left: Treasury PS Joseph Muia,Governors Nderitu Mureithi (Laikipia), Martin Wambora (Embu), DP William Ruto, Devolution CS Charles Keter , (CRA) Chairperson, Jane Kiringai, and Controller of Budget, Margaret Nyakang'o during the IBEC meeting in Nairobi on November 22
    William Ruto