Crisis in Nairobi County Assembly as ODM, Azimio Parties Fight

The Nairobi County Assembly Chambers
The Nairobi County Assembly Chambers

Azimio affiliate parties, Wiper and Jubilee, accused the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) of shortchanging them in the concluded Nairobi County house leadership committee elections. 

Speaker Kennedy Ng'ondi, Majority Leader Makongeni MCA Peter Imwatok and Majority Whip Kilimani MCA Moses Ogeto were accused of orchestrating the plot to favour ODM.

Wiper and Jubilee alleged that they had a pre-election agreement that would see ODM take the Speaker, Majority leader and Whip positions among seats in various House committees.

The ward reps elected Kitisuru MCA Alvin Olando (ODM) to chair the Planning and Housing Committee, Mugumu-ini MCA Jared Akama (ODM) to lead the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee, Redson Otieno (ODM) will chair Water and Sanitation while Kabiro MCA Clarence Munga (ODM) will chair Culture and Community Services.

Kitisuru MCA Hon Alvin Olando Palapala speaking in Loresho on October 22, 2020
Kitisuru MCA Hon Alvin Olando Palapala speaking in Loresho on October 22, 2020

Kawangware MCA Fredrick Njogu of the Jubilee party got the Energy, Information and Communications Technology Committee.

Speaking to, Kitisuru MCA Alvin Olando confirmed that he was elected as the chair of the Planning and Housing Committee.

He also refuted claims that affiliate Azimio parties were shortchanged. 

"Matters of committee leadership have no agreements, standing orders were changed allowing party leaders to decide on matters of House leadership. However, in committee leadership, members are elected.

"There was no shortchanging, ODM has shared the leadership equally across the coalition." he said. reached out to Jubilee communications head, Albert Mwemusi, but he was unreachable. 

Two months ago ODMs Kennedy Okeyo Ngondi was elected as the Speaker of the third assembly of the Nairobi County Assembly.

Ngondi garnered 68 votes against his rival Robow Mohammed who managed 55 votes in the second round of voting.

Nairobi county assembly speaker Ken Ng'ondi
Nairobi county assembly speaker Ken Ng'ondi.