Maraga Taskforce Begins Reviewing Police Salaries After Ruto Directive

David Maraga
Retired Chief Justice David Maraga taking oath of office as the Chair of the Taskforce on Police Reforms on Monday, January 9, 2023.
Martha Koome

National Taskforce on Police Reforms headed by ex-Chief Justice David Maraga commenced the process of reviewing the salaries of police officers.

This was announced by National Police Service Commission (NSPC) during the launch of the 100-day report on Tuesday, January 17.

The NSPC revealed that the task force that was formed on December 22, 2022, has already swung into action.

Martha Koome congratulating David Maraga
Chief Justice Martha Koome congratulates Chief Justice emeritus David Maraga after his swearing-in as Chair of the Taskforce on Police Reforms on Monday, January 9, 2023.
Zakheem Rajan

“The task force has already started looking at terms and conditions of services for police and prison officers.

“Basic pay, allowances, housing, insurance, welfare, and psychosocial support are some of the matters the task force is already reviewed,” NSPC announced in a statement.

The commission revealed that there had been concerns that police and prison officers were receiving poor pay and allowances.

“We had been concerned and raised the matter of officers working in hardship areas and far-flung areas.

“Officers working in some parts of North Eastern, Rift Valley, Coast, and Easter will benefit from increased allowance because they work under extraneous circumstances,” the commission revealed.

Police officers working in those areas were advised by NSPC to contact the task force and air grievances that might have been overlooked.

The commission further revealed that under President William Ruto’s government, 5,867 youth have already been employed in the force under permanent and pensionable terms.

During campaigns heading to the August 9 elections, Ruto promised to form a task force to look at the welfare of police officers and increase their pay.

“Kenya Kwanza administration will overhaul the Kenya Police Service within 100 days and restore dignity to the officers,” the President promised on July 17, 2022, while on a campaign trail in Juja, Kiambu County.

On November 15, 2022, through Interior Security Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki the government affirmed that it will fulfill its campaign promise.

“The government will announce the measures that we are taking to review the terms and conditions of our police officers,” Kindiki affirmed.

Ruto formed the 21-member task force on December 22, 2022, and it was sworn in on January 9, 2023 with the former CJ as the Chairperson deputised by Carole Kariuki.

Other members of the task force include: Moffat Muriithi Kangi, John Ole Moyaki, Ibrahim Jillo Guyo, Richard Kirundi, Elizabeth Mueni, Roseline Odede, Joash Odhiambo Dache, Doreen Muthaura, Albert Mwenda, Terry Chebet Maina, Hassan Sheikh Mohamed, Simiyu Werunga, Mutuma Ruteere, Anne Ireri, Stephen Kayongo, Jafaar Mohamed and Sammy Chepkwony.

The passing out parade for 2,881 officers at Kiganjo Police College, Nyeri County on Tuesday January 10, 2022
The passing out parade for 2,881 officers at Kiganjo Police College, Nyeri County, on Tuesday, January 10, 2022.