Uhuru Kenyatta Declared President-elect

President Uhuru Kenyatta has been declared the winner of the presidential election held on October 26.

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati made the announcement on Monday afternoon at the Bomas of Kenya amid cheers from leaders allied to the Jubilee Party who were in attendance.

In what was a landslide victory for Mr Kenyatta, he garnered 7,483,895 Million votes, translating to 98.26% of the total votes cast, beating his closest rival and National Super Alliance (NASA) leader Raila Odinga who got 73,228 votes, 0.96%, despite pulling out of the poll.

[caption caption="IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati"][/caption]

Abduba Dida got 14,107votes - 0.19%, Cyrus Jirongo got 3832votes - 0.06%, Japheth Kaluyu 8261votes - 0.11%, Joe Nyagah 5554votes - 0.07% while Michael Wainaina 6007votes - 0.08%.

The fresh election was ordered by Chief Justice David Maraga on September 1 after the Supreme Court found various illegalities and irregularities in the August 8 polls.

The run-up to the election was not short of drama as Mr Odinga withdrew his candidature just a few days to the exercise, leading to low voter turnout in his perceived strongholds.

In Counties such as Siaya, Kisumu, Homa Bay and Migori, voting did not take place as residents heeded the call to boycott the election.

Violence was reported in most areas of Nyanza leading to the death of several people as residents engaged police in running battles while blocking the delivery of election materials.

They maintained that they would not vote, forcing the IEBC to postpone the election in those areas to a date that is yet to be communicated.

Earlier on Monday, IEBC Deputy Chairperson Consolata Nkatha stated that the poll body would announce the winner without the results from some regions in Nyanza because they would not affect the outcome.

Mr Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto are set to serve their second term until 2022.

[caption caption="File Photo of President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto"][/caption]

  • . .