2 Politicians Who've Never Lost An Election For Over 20 Years

The Kenyan political scene is known for its diversity, something that was highly witnessed in the 2017 August elections which recorded about 80 percent of the incumbent leaders being kicked out of office.

However, these harsh conditions have not hindered these two politicians from standing the test of time, winning all the five elections they have participated in over the past 20 years.

Deputy President William Samoei Ruto and Meru Governor Kiraitu Murungi have a flair of winning since they joined elective politics.

Mr Ruto has never lost any election since 1997.

His most glorious win was in 2007 when he won against the Moi family under the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) ticket.

[caption caption="Raila Odinga and William Ruto during the 2007 ODM campaigns."][/caption]

Ruto, who was Odinga ally in the 2007 election, showed his political muscle when he led the ODM wave that swept the Rift Valley and all the seats.

He delivered a vote for Raila, only for his new fame to be marred by the post-election chaos.

However, he got the Agriculture and later Higher Education Ministry dockets, but in 2010, he was stripped of the title after being accused of corruption.

The self-styled 'hustler' is known for his sheer hard work and aggressive political nature that saw him rally the Rift Valley voting bloc behind President Uhuru Kenyatta to win the 2013 General Election.

Kiraitu Murungi, on the other hand, holds the record for being the only Kenyan leader who has won six consecutive elections.

[caption caption="Deputy President William Ruto, Meru Governor Kiraitu Murungi and former governor Peter Munya"][/caption]

Murungi has won each election with a different party and has served as an MP, a Senator, and now as a Governor.

The 65-year old politician has often been heard joking that he “is not as foolish as he looks”.

Murungi has two Masters degrees in law, including one from the prestigious Harvard University. He was former President Daniel Moi's lawyer while he practiced law for 10 years.

In 1992, the Meru Governor joined electoral politics and won the Imenti South seat on a Ford Kenya ticket.

He was re-elected in 1997 on a Democratic Party ticket; in 2002 on a NARC ticket, and in 2007 on a PNU ticket.

Murungi would later formed the APK popularly known as the “Mbus Party” which he used to contest the Meru Senate seat successfully in 2013.

  • .