ICC Assigns 3 Judges to Collapsed Cases Against President Uhuru Kenyatta and DP William Ruto

The International Criminal Court (ICC) presidency has assigned three judges to Trial Chamber IV, on the collapsed cases against President Uhuru Kenyata, his deputy William Ruto and former journalist Joshua Arap Sang.

Judges Robert Fremr, Reine Alapini-Gansou and Kimberly Prost were appointed by the Hague based court to handle the alleged crimes against humanity committed during the post-election violence in Kenya in 2007/2008.

ICC judges had dismissed the charges against the trio after key witnesses pulled out as others renounced their pieces of evidence.

The prosecution argued that it was frustrated by Kenya government in their attempts to compel witnesses to appear before the Hague based court.

[caption caption="DP William Ruto leaves ICC accompanied by his lawyer Karim Khan and former radio presenter Joshua"][/caption]

The prosecution further noted that the government sabotaged its efforts to acquire confidential documents such as bank statements, from the witnesses.

In 2016, ICC judges absolved DP Ruto and Mr sang of their charges, arguing that the prosecution had failed to present sufficient evidence to convict the suspects.

In their ruling, Judges Chile Eboe-Osuji and Robert Fremr stated that the prosecutor failed to adduce enough evidence to prove the existence of a key pillar of the prosecutor’s case.

In 2014, prosecutor Fatou Bensouda withdrew charges against President Kenyatta at the ICC.

She accused the state of harassing and intimidating potential witnesses.

[caption caption="Uhuru Kenyatta at the ICC "][/caption]

  • . . .