President Uhuru Unfollows DP William Ruto on Twitter

  • President Uhuru Kenyatta has unfollowed Deputy President William Ruto on Twitter.

    As of now, the President only follows 33 people, among them six Kenyans.

    The six are, the First Lady Margaret Kenyatta, National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale, State House Spokesman Manoah Esipisu, Director of Digital Communications in the President's office Dennis Itumbi, Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich, and Olympic Champion Ezekiel Kemboi.

    Current list of Uhuru's followers on Twitter:

    However, efforts to establish why the President took that action and when it happened were futile as unsuccessfully tried to reach Director of Digital Communications in the President's office, Dennis Itumbi.

    In the past, the Head of State has been acknowledged as the most popular personality on Twitter in Kenya based on the number of followers he has.

    In 2016, Uhuru unfollowed most of the people he had been following on Twitter leaving only 11, mainly famous Heads of State.

    At the time, the President retained only three people in Kenya,  First Lady Margaret Kenyatta, Deputy President William Ruto and State House Spokesman Manoah Esipisu.

    What informed the decision was unclear as unsuccessfully tried to reach Mr Itumbi.

    Some of the people the President unfollowed then included: Safaricom CEO Bob Collymore, Police Inspector Joseph Boinnet, State House official account, Devolution Cabinet Secretary (CS) Eugene Wamalwa, Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu, blogger Ory Okolloh, South African President Jacob Zuma and former Tanzanian Head of State Jakaya Kikwete.

    He later followed other government officials adding his following to 34 people.

    Among the 33 people, the Commander-in-chief follows only two women; First Lady Margaret Kenyatta and Rwandese Foreign Affairs Minister Louise Mushikiwabo.

    Update: 10:08 a.m.

    Barely an hour after the publication of this article, the president followed his deputy.