KTN News Restructures, Launches Multi-Million Newsroom

  • a
    The multi-million newsroom at Standard Media Group located along Mombasa Road
  • The Standard Media Group on Tuesday, March 2, unveiled a multi-million newsroom and reorganised the editorial department as part of the media houses' digital transformation plan. 

    An internal memo sent to all staff indicated that the company's plan included investing in the state-of-the-art newsroom, technology and structures that will ensure the Mombasa road media house achieve convergence. 

    This includes adopting integrated workflows, scraping off and creating new positions that will see all departments work together in a cockpit newsroom. Senior editors were tasked with assigning journalists as staff relocated to the new centre. 

    "I take this early opportunity to congratulate each staff member who has been appointed to a new role and wish all success in executing the same," Editor-in-Chief, Ochieng Rapuro said. 

    Standard Group headquarters along Mombasa Road, Nairobi
    Standard Group headquarters along Mombasa Road, Nairobi
    Simon Kiragu

    On February 5, nine editors were selected to head different departments, all reporting directly to Rapuro. These are; 

    Kipkoech Tanui - Head of News

    Kizito Namulanda - Intake Editor

    Peter Opondo - Strategy & Content Editor (Broadcast)

    Caroline Kimutai - Digital Editor

    John Bundotich - Daily Print Editor

    Charles Otieno - Weekly Print Editor 

    Caroline Wambui, Lilian Aluanga and Nzau Musau - Continuity Editors

    On Tuesday, March 2, more changes were effected and more appointments were made with some KTN News anchors promoted and others demoted. 

    Anchor Ben Kitili's Deputy Editor role in the Political Desk was handed over to colleague Sophia Wanuna. Ali Manzu took over as Deputy Editor/Anchor, TV Output Department from Paul Nabiswa. Agnes Gakunga was also promoted to Programs Editor in Manzu's docket. 

    In the Sports Desk, Hassan Juma's was demoted as Deputy Editor with Robin Toskin and Hassan Kauleni taking over the position. 

    From left: KTN News anchors, Ben Kitili, Sophia Wanuna and Ali Manzu

    The changes, in summary, were as follows; 

    Roselyn Obala was appointed the Lead Editor, Political Desk, with anchor Sophia Wanuna Nganga as the Deputy Editor. Duncan Khaemba and Murimi Mwangi are among the senior reporters at the desk. 

    In the TV Output department, Ali Manzu is the Deputy Editor/Anchor, heading the team that includes anchors and reporters including Akisa Wandera, Ashley Mazuri, Lofty Matambo, Mary Kilobi, Ken Mijungu, Linda Oguttu, Ben Kitili, Frank Otieno and others. 

    Under the National Desk, Evelyne Kwamboka was appointed the County Editor with Zablo Oloo taking up the role of City Desk Editor. Others include Mark Namaswa as County Desk Reporter and Timothy Otieno as City Desk Reporter. 

    Other departments include the Entertainment Desk headed by Editor Loice Wairimu. Kagure Gacheche was appointed Checkpoint editor. 

    In the Digital Desk, Daniel Wambua and Queenter Mbori were appointed as Deputy Directors. In the Sports Section, Robin Toskin and Hassan Kauleni were appointed Deputy Editors. 

    Radio Desk will be headed by Geoffrey Mung'ou as Deputy Editor and Mark Nyongesa as Assistant Editor. Henry Githaiga and Jevans Miyungu will head the Economy Desk as lead editors.