Matungu: Mudavadi's ANC Man Beats Ruto & Raila Candidates

  • c
    ODM party leader Raila Odinga speaks with ANC's Musalia Mudavadi at a past event
  • Update: Musalia Mudavadi's ANC's candidate Peter Nabulindo has won the Matungu Constituency by-election after garnering 14,260. 

    He beat ODM's David Were who came second with 10,565 votes as well as UDA Candidate Alex Lanya who garnered 5,513 votes. 

    Ford Kenya's Majimbo Kalasinga was declared the winner in the Kabuchai, Bungoma parliamentary by-election, after he won by a landslide, on Thursday, March 4. 

    Kalasinga, who ran via the Senator Moses Wetangula-led party, garnered 19,274 votes (56 percent). United Democratic Alliance (UDA) candidate Evans Kaikai came second with 6,455 votes. 

    Ford Kenya's Majimbo Kalasinga addresses his followers after winning the Kabuchai by-election on Thursday, March 4, 2021

    UDA is linked to Deputy President William Ruto. Amos Wekesa of the Federal Party of Kenya was third with 1,454 votes followed by Dr. Gasper Wafubwa who came fourth with 1,236 votes out of the 29,798 cast. 

    Raila Odinga's ODM did not field a candidate in the Kabuchai by-election. The results were announced by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer, Mr Benson Esuza. 

    Kalasinga lost to the late John Lusweti in 2017, when he ran under the Jubilee Party. 

    In the ward by-elections, UDA's Antony Nzuki won the London, Nakuru seat after securing 1,707 votes. Jubilee's Francis Njoroge came second with 1385 votes.

    In Uasin Gishu's Huruma Ward by-elections, Jubilee's Lucy Ngendo was declared the winner after garnering 2,498 votes. 

    Jubilee's Virginia Wamaitha won the Hells Gate Ward after getting 3,955 votes with UDA's Warothe Kuria got 2,742 votes. 

    In Kisii County, ODM's Malachi Matara won the Kiamokama Ward by-election with 1,907 votes. Party of Economic Development's (PED) Daniel Ondabu came second with 1,257 as Stephen Nyakeriga of The New Democrats (TND) became third with 1,004 votes. 

    Kalonzo Musyoka's Wiper Party won the Kitese-Kithuki Ward by-elections in Makueni County with Sebastian Muli getting 3,892 votes. Muungano Party candidate Joseph Kioko came second with 878 votes. 

    UDA's Anthony Nzuki (left) with Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen (right) at a campaign rally in London, Nakuru on Thursday, March 4, 2021
    A graphic illustration of the Matungu by-election which was conducted on Thursday, March 4, 2021
    A graphic illustration of the Kabuchai by-election which was conducted on Thursday, March 4, 2021
    A graphic illustration of the Kabuchai by-election which was conducted on Thursday, March 4, 2021