Chiloba Moves to Revoke Capital FM, NRG Radio Frequencies

  • Communications Authority of Kenya Director General Ezra Chiloba
    Communications Authority of Kenya Director General Ezra Chiloba
  • Communications Authority of Kenya Director General, Ezra Chiloba, has initiated the cancellation of licence offers to 60 applicants for radio broadcasting licenses.

    In a statement, the CA boss stated that the move was reached following the broadcasters failure to comply with the licence offer within the offer period as prescribed by the Authority in accordance with the Kenya Information and Communications Act.

    The cancellation of the licence offer is accompanied by a notice of revocation of the FM broadcasting frequencies assigned to the applicants.

    Some of the notable radio stations include Capital FM, NRG Radio, Mbaitu FM and One FM.

    A file image of a radio station
    A file image of a radio station

    "Take notice that the Authority has commenced regulatory actions against the following listed broadcasters and applicants of broadcasting service provisioning licences for failure to comply with the relevant requirements as provided for in the Act," Chiloba stated.

    "In accordance with Section 46C of the Kenya Information and Communications Act, 1998, it is unlawful to provide any form of broadcasting service in Kenya without a license issued by the Communications Authority of Kenya (CA)."

    "Contravention of this requirement attracts a fine not exceeding Ksh1,000,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding three years or both," it continued.

    Here is the full list of radio stations named by Chiloba:

    1. Kesha
    2. Winam
    3. Radio Amani
    4. Kalya Fm
    5. Gulf Radio 
    6. Qwetu Radio 
    7. Vihiga Fm 
    8. Weather – Reports Realtime
    9. Nyanam Initiative Cbo 
    10. Warsan Fm 
    11. Mbaitu Fm 
    12. Ruben 
    13. Hero Fm
    14. Onagi 
    15. Kong’asis 
    16. Mwariama Fm 
    17. Kegocho 
    18. Mu Fm  
    19. Mmu Fm  
    20. Mmust Fm  
    21. Syokimau Fm  
    22. Radio Sahara  
    23. Egerton  
    24. Milambo Bajona  
    25. One Fm   
    26. The Just Liveth   
    27. Main Bridge   
    28. Radio Furaha   
    29. Kisima Fm   
    30. Ku 99.9 Fm    
    31. Emuria Fm   
    32. Risala Fm   
    33.Nrg Radio   
    34. Thiiri Fm    
    35. Midnimo Fm   
    36. Radio Lake Victoria    
    37. Wendo Fm   
    38. Equator Fm     
    39. KIMC
    40. Radio Sunset   
    41. Capital Fm   
    42. Radio Umoja     
    43. Southwest Media    
    44. Wajir Radio    
    45. VBN Fm   
    46. Kakuma Fm    
    47. Western Nyota Busia Fm     
    48. Voice Of Victory Fm      
    49. Simba Fm     
    50. Abba Fm   
    51. Makutano Fm   
    52. Wasya Fm   
    53. Midzi Fm   
    54. Faith Fm   
    55. Ref Fm   
    56. Radio Lamu Fm
    57. Taraji Fm
    58. Trichem    
    59. RealTime
    60. Coil 

    Former IEBC CEO Ezra Chiloba
    Former IEBC CEO Ezra Chiloba.