MPs Who Won Governor Seats in August 9 Polls

  • Richard Onyonka Simba Arati
    Dagoretti North MP Simba Arati flanked by his Kitutu Chache counterpart Richard Onyonka at a past political rally
  • As the country waits for the declaration of the 2022 Presidential General Election results, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) officials have been declaring winners and losers in various races countrywide.

    In the August 9 polls, some Members of Parliament have risen to higher positions after being given the mandate to lead their respective Counties. profiles some of the the legislators from the August house who are set to serve as County bosses.

    Woman Representative Gladys Wanga declared the winner in the Homa Bay Gubernatorial race.
    Woman Representative Gladys Wanga declared the winner in the Homa Bay Gubernatorial race.

    Simba Arati 

    Outgoing Dagoretti North MP Simba Arati was declared Kisii county governor-elect.   

    Arati clinched the seat after garnering 270,928 votes defeating Ezekiel Machogu of UDA who finished second with 82,104 votes.  

    Gladys Wanga 

    Homa Bay Woman Representative Gladys Wanga was declared Homa Bay governor-elect.  

    Wanga won the race with 244,559 votes with her closest competitor, former Nairobi governor Dr Evans Kidero coming second with 154,182.  

    Andrew Mwadime 

    Andrew Mwadime defeated the outgoing Governor Granton Samboja in the Taita Taveta gubernatorial race.  

    The Taita Taveta governor-elect served as Mwatate Member of Parliament from 2013 to 2022. 

    Cecily Mbarire 

    UDA candidate Cecily Mbarire was declared the governor-elect of Embu County becoming the third woman to be declared governor-elect in the Mount Kenya region.  

    Mbarire who is an outgoing nominated MP, secured 108,610 votes, trouncing her closest competitor Lenny Kivuti who bagged 105,246 votes.  

    Kawira Mwangaza 

    Former Meru County Woman Representative Kawira Mwangaza made history after she become the first female governor to be elected on an independent ticket.   

    Mwangaza garnered a total of 209,148 votes with Meru’s outgoing Senator Mithika Linturi coming in second place. Veteran politician and incumbent governor Kiraitu Murungi came third.

    A image of Meru Governor-elect Kawira Mwangaza.jpg
    A image of Meru Governor-elect Kawira Mwangaza.
    Kawira Mwangaza