Meru County Senator Kiraitu Murungi, the Politician Who Has Vied Five Times With Different Political Parties and Won on All Occasions

  • By Vincent Kejitan on Monday, 19 June 2017 - 3:45pm
    always a winner
    File Photo of a Ballot Box TWITTER
  • Politics they say is a dirty game, but some have mastered the art of remaining relevant over the years, somehow maneuvering their way to a win during every election.

    Meru County Senator Kiraitu Murungi has approached each election with a new outfit since the second phase of political pluralism in 1992.

    The veteran politician is set to vie for the Meru governorship in the August polls and if he emerges victorious, he will set a record for becoming the first politician to win on all six occasions having changed his party on each instance.

    He was first elected as MP for South Imenti on a Ford Kenya ticket in 1992.

    In 1997, Murungi crossed over to the Democratic Party (DP), which had emerged as the strongest outfit in Mt Kenya East, and won.

    Prior to the 2002 elections, the two-term MP jumped ship to join National Alliance of Kenya, which formed part of the National Rainbow Coalition (NARC) after KANU‘rebels’ joined it in droves.

    In 2007, NARC had collapsed spectacularly and Kiraitu, by then a powerful minister in retired President Kibaki's government, had been elected Secretary General of the Party of National Unity (PNU), through which he sought re-election and emerged victorious.

    By 2013, he and some colleagues from Mt Kenya East settled on the Alliance Party of Kenya and once again retained his seat.

    The former Energy Minister is this year set to vie on a Jubilee Party ticket and still stands a good chance of winning due to his popularity in the region. He will be facing off with incumbent Governor Peter Munya.

    Others who have vied for political seats under different parties include National Super Alliance (NASA) leader Raila Odinga - who has been elected on four different parties - Ford Kenya, National Development Party (NDP), NARC and ODM and Wiper Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, who has served the people of Mwingi North constituency via KANU, NARC and ODM-Kenya.

    Deputy President William Ruto, Amani Party leader Musalia Mudavadi, Kirinyaga aspiring governor Martha Karua and Ford-Kenya leader Moses Wetangula have served in Parliament courtesy of three different political parties. 


Celebrity Birthdays   ©   2018   All Rights Reserved