Uhuru Orders Sacking of Jubilee Rebels

  • President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday ordered four House committees to remove their chairmen in favour of Jubilee Party preferences.

    According to the Nation, the meeting between the Head of State and legislators in the four committees took place at State House Nairobi.

    The MPs include Alfred Keter (Nandi Hills), who heads the Labour committee, Silas Tiren (Moiben), the chairman of Agriculture, Kangogo Bowen (Marakwet East), Environment and Natural Resources, and James Gakuya (Embakasi North), Broadcasting and Library.

    [caption caption="Nandi Hills MP Alfred Keter"][/caption]

    It is alleged that they have been going against the President's leadership thus creating friction with leaders in Jubilee ranks.

    Keter and Tiren, however, insisted that they were elected legally and would not step down.

    “They want people they can control but I will not allow them to get away with it.

    “Cartels that have been looting institutions like the National Social Security Fund (NSSF) are against my election as chairman.

    "I want to tell them that I’m going nowhere and will play my role effectively,” reiterated Keter.[caption caption="Deputy President William Ruto"][/caption]

    Tiren, on the other hand, stated that he respects Deputy President William Ruto but was elected to represent the needs of his people.

    “I respect His Excellency William Samoei Ruto the Deputy President and our Deputy Party Leader and I shall accord him all the support, but also I was elected by the people of Moiben to represent them in Parliament.

    "I wonder what I will tell them if I step down from this position which actually touches on their lives directly because they are farmers,” he remarked.