NASA MPs Who Refused to Sign Affidavit to Recognize Raila

  • An affidavit fronted by Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala seeking to compel opposition lawmakers to declare support for National Super Alliance (NASA) leader Raila Odinga's swearing-in has not been signed by at least 34 Members of Parliament.

    Over 120 legislators have signed the document but a few have rejected it, stating that they do not need to sign it to prove their loyalty.

    Among those who have not signed the document are National Assembly Deputy Minority Leader Robert Mbui, South Mugirango MP Sylvanus Osoro, Kitutu Chache South MP Richard Onyonka and Luanda MP Christopher Omulele.

    Omulele is quoted by the Star claiming that the affidavit was a ploy by 'jokers' Malala and Nominated MP Godfrey Osotsi to gain political mileage.

    “My leader is Raila. I don't need to swear an affidavit before some ANC members who were fighting Raila up to the last moment. In the IEBC record, I am one of the proposers for Raila to be President.

    [caption caption="Cleophas Malala"][/caption]

    "I believe in Raila and I have never supported any presidential candidate even when Musalia was on the ballot,” Omulele stated.

    South Mugirango MP Osoro also declared that he would not sign the affidavit, claiming that those behind it were driven by a  selfish agenda.

    “I haven't got details from my party leadership, I cannot be called upon by a senator of a certain party within our coalition to tell me to sign the affidavit.

    “I will not sign because Malala cannot call upon me to sign an affidavit. It needs to be a coalition position. If Baba says I sign, I will, not Malala,” he said. Am not answerable to Malala or any other Senator or leader of my calibre,” Osoro stated.

    Amani National Congress (ANC) Secretary-General Barrack Muluka also dismissed the affidavit, stating that it had a "sinister motive and intent".

    [caption caption="Barrack Muluka"][/caption]