Sonko's Cabinet Summoned by Detectives

A photo of Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko gesturing at a past media interview.
Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko gestures at a past media interview.

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission EACC on Thursday, February 27, summoned Nairobi county CECs over loss of county funds.

In a statement by the commission, the 32 officials who include current and former CECs and other county officials were ordered to present themselves for the recording of statements on Friday, February 28, 2020.

Among those in the list include Allan Igambi (Trade), Lucia Mulwa (Education and Sports) and Veska Kangogo (Devolution and Public service).

Nairobi County Headquarters at City Hall
Nairobi County Headquarters at City Hall
Simon Kiragu

Larry Wambua (Environment), Hitan Majevda (Health) and Newton Njiru (ICT)

Others include Halkano Waqo, Christine Ireri, and Hitan Majevda.

In the letter signed by the acting deputy Chief Executive Officer at EACC, the officials were to get to the commission’s offices between 9:00a.m. to 2:00p.m. on Friday, February 28.

The CEC secretariat Joyce Kinyanjui, administration office's Samwel Kinyanjui, chief of staff Peter Mugo and deputy county secretary Leboo Ole Morintat who was recently demoted.

Winfred Kathangu and Pauline Kahiga who were sacked as CECs and former Acting County Attorney Cristine Ireri have also been summoned.

In November 2019, the EACC summoned the Sonko's cabinet in relation to the loss of other county funds.

This brings more woes to the already embattled Nairobi county whose governor was ordered to stay away from office after allegations of corruption in December 2019.

On Tuesday, February 26, 2020, the National Government took over key functions in the Nairobi county administration which will now be under the direct supervision of Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa.

The landmark agreement signed by Governor Mike Sonko and Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa in the presence of President Uhuru Kenyatta and Senate speaker Ken Lusaka was done in line with Article 187 of the Constitution.

The statement by PSCU reiterated that article 187 (1) of the Constitution stipulates that “a function or power of government at one level may be transferred to a government at the other level by agreement between the governments if the function or power would be more effectively performed or exercised by the receiving government; and if the transfer of the function or power is not prohibited by the legislation under which it is to be performed or exercised.”

According to the special Kenya Gazette notice released on Tuesday, February 25, the deal would see the Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa take charge of major roles in the county.

The dockets transferred to the national government included health, transport, planning and development services and public works, utilities and ancillary services.

According to the deed of transfer, the agreement shall become effective 21 days from the date of execution and shall remain in force for an initial renewable period of 24 months from the date of execution. This means that the parties shall review the performance of the transferred functions annually.



EACC statement summoning Governor Mike Sonko's Cabinet
EACC statement summoning Governor Mike Sonko's Cabinet
EACC statement summoning Governor Mike Sonko's Cabinet
EACC statement summoning Governor Mike Sonko's Cabinet


  • .