Gor Mahia Crowned KPL Champions After League Cancellation

  • An image of Gor Mahia
    Gor Mahia players and coach celebrate with the fans after winning the Mashemeji Derby against AFC Leopards on Sunday 8 March 2020.
  • Gor Mahia was on Thursday, April 30, declared the 2019-2020 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) champions for a record fourth consecutive time.

    Football Kenya Federation President Nick Mwendwa announced the decision after football leagues in the country were cancelled.

    "Ooh and Congratulations Gor Mahia! You are champions once again and you will represent Kenya on the champions league next season. Lets do this," reads a tweet shared by Mwendwa.

    An image of Gor Mahia players
    Gor Mahia players from left Clifton Miheso, Lawrence Juma, Boniface Omondi and Kenneth Muguna celebrating a goal against AFC Leopards in the Mashemeji Derby on Sunday 8 March 2020

    According to the FKF handbook, failure to complete the league where all the clubs in the division have completed the first round fixture but less than 75% league games have been played, the table standings at the end of the first round shall be considered as the final table standing of the league.

    A letter by KPL dated Thursday, April 30, revealed that they are strongly against annulling the league without first exploring other avenues which will see the season played to the end. 

    The decision now means that Sony Sugar who were expelled from the league after dishing out three walkovers are relegated alongside Chemelil Sugar.

    National Super League table-toppers Nairobi City Stars will be promoted back to the KPL after four years as NSL champions while second-placed Bidco United will also earn automatic promotion.

    "Nairobi city stars !! Welcome to the Premier League. Sasa changamkeni na ma signature moto moto.. (now prepare yourselves to sign star players)," said Mwendwa in a subsequent Tweet.

    KPL strugglers Kisumu All Stars will engage in a Promotion/Relegation Play-Off match against Vihiga United who suffered relegation last season.

    This becomes the first time that a club in Kenya's top tier has won the league four consecutive times with the closest being three achieved by Gor Mahia, Ulinzi Stars and AFC Leopards.

    Gor Mahia will now represent Kenya in the CAF Champions League where they will start the group stage qualification process in the Preliminary Round.

    K'Ogalo have extended their league haul to 19 titles with Leopards coming second with 12 and have won their seventh title in the last eight seasons.

    African football governing body CAF asked its member associations to inform the status of their leagues and tournaments by May 5.

    "Given the current circumstances, we want to know the current situation of your local championship/cup as well as the strategies that you intend to apply to finalize your competitions whether they are finished or cancelled," the letter read in part.

    An image of Kenneth Muguna
    Gor Mahia captain Kenneth Muguna leading celebrations at the Kasarani Stadium on Sunday 8 March 2020.