49 in ICU as Covid-19 Cases Rise to 93,405

  • A bed in an ICU facility in Nandi County.
    A bed in an ICU facility in Nandi County on June 29, 2020.
  • Kenya has recorded 552 more Covid-19 positive cases in the last 24 hours as the country's total caseload rose to 93,405.

    In a press statement on Thursday, December 17, Health CS Mutahi Kagwe announced that 7,013 samples had been tested over the period bringing the total number of samples tested so far to 991,448.

    Out of the 552 positive cases, 49 patients were reported to be in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 22 of whom were on ventilatory support, and 21 on supplemental oxygen and another 6 on observation.

    Another 43 patients were separately on supplementary oxygen. 33 of those were in the general wards and 10 in the High Dependency Unit (HDU).

    Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe addressing the media on November 26, 2020
    Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe addressing the media on November 26, 2020

    346 were male and 206 were female. The youngest case was a one-year-old and the oldest was aged 93.

    From the cases, 529 are Kenyans while 23 are foreigners.

    At the same time, 596 patients recovered from the disease with 484 discharged from home-based care and 112 from the hospital. The total number of recoveries rose to 74,999.

    Four patients succumbed to the disease bringing the total number of deaths to 1,618. 

    Currently, there are 843 patients admitted in various health facilities countrywide and 6,090 on Home Based Isolation and Care.

    The distribution of the cases by Counties was as follows; Nairobi 222, Mombasa 46, Lamu 25, Nakuru 23, Taita Taveta 21, Kilifi 21, Nyeri 18 and Kiambu 14. 

    Turkana and Siaya counties each had 13 cases, Embu 12, Kakamega 11, Murang'a 9, Laikipia 9, Machakos 8 , Kitui 7, Bungoma 5, Kisumu 5, Kwale 4, Garissa 4, Vihiga 4.

    Kericho, Narok, Bomet and Meru counties all had three cases each, Makueni 2, Baringo 2, Kisii 2, Marsabit
    2, Tana River 1, Kajiado 1, Nyamira 1, Kirinyaga 1 and Mandera 1.