Uhuru Nominates Candidates For EACC Job

  • President of the republic of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta
    President of the republic of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyatta
  • National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi on Wednesday, October 6, announced that President Uhuru Kenyatta had nominated two shortlisted candidates to replace the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) commissioners who resigned.

    Uhuru picked retired KDF Colonel Alfred Mshimba and Dr. Monica Wanjiru and submitted their names to Parliament for vetting. 

    This is after Dabar Abdi Malim and Rose Macharia tendered their resignation on September 1 in a letter addressed to the head of state. 

    Ethics and Anti-Corruption Comission (EACC) Offices at Integrity centre Building in Nairobi. ‎Monday, ‎18 ‎November ‎2019.
    Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) Offices at Integrity Centre in Nairobi. ‎Monday, ‎18 ‎November ‎2019.
    Simon Kiragu

    If approved, Mshimba will become the latest in a long line of military men picked by President Kenyatta to head critical civilian institutions. 

    He will join EACC CEO Twalib Mbarak who previously served in KDF. 

    In March 2020, he appointed Major General Abdalla Badi as the Director-General of the Nairobi Metropolitan Services (NMS). 

    The Head of State then appointed General (Rtd) Samson Mwathethe as the of Kenya Electricity Generating Company PLC (KenGen) Board Chairman.

    On September 22, the Public Service Commission (PSC) shortlisted 21 candidates for the two positions of commissioners that fell vacant. 

    Maj Gen (Rtd) Pastor Awitta, who currently serves as the chair of the Kenya Railways Corporation, was initially appointed as a board member by President Kenyatta.

    Other military men who have been appointed include Major General (Rtd) Philip Kameru heads the National Intelligence Service (NIS) since his appointment in 2014. Former Chief of Staff Gen (Rtd) Julius Karangi heads the National Security and Social Fund (NSSF).

    The 21 shortlisted candidates included former NTV presenter Richard Chacha, John  Kirui, Joan  Machayo, Lawrence Nyalle, Halima Shuria, Enock  Kinara, Rukia Atikiya, Elizabeth Munene-Muchane, Nancy Karimi, and Abdiaziz Sheikh Maad.

    Othes were Faith  Waigwa, Adan  Bulle, Mary Mwongeli  Ndeto, Florence Muinde, Lucy  Kinuthia, Richard Odour, Monica  Muiru, Paul  Lenkume, Stellah Onyiego, Alfred  Mshimba and Abdihafid Abdullahi Yarrow.

    EACC CEO Twalib Mbarak after presenting a cheque to the Kenya Covid-19 Fund on April 28, 2020.
    EACC CEO Twalib Mbarak after presenting a cheque to the Kenya Covid-19 Fund on April 28, 2020.