46  Independent Candidates Join Race For State House [LIST]

  • Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu
    Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu
  • At least 46 presidential aspirants have been cleared by the Office of the Registrar of Political Parties (ORPP) to run for the presidency as independents in the August 9 General Election.

    According to the RPP Anne Nderitu, the 46 have presented their documents to her office ahead of the, Monday, May 2 deadline and had been cleared.

    Among the notable names is former military man Nixon Kukubo, who is not new to the State House race. Kukubo ran for presidency in 2007 under the Republican Party of Kenya. Notably, gospel artist Reuben Kigame also registered as an independent.

    Also in the race as an independent is Jeremiah John Mwaniki Nyaga, who declared his bid on March 22. Mwaniki will follow in the footsteps of his father and former Cabinet Minister Joseph Nyaga.

    An image of John Jeremiah Mwaniki Nyaga
    John Jeremiah Mwaniki Nyaga addresses the media in Kirinyaga County on Tuesday, March 22, 2022.
    John Nyaga

    On April 29, Nderitu had announced that her staff would be asked to report for duty during the long weekend to facilitate the process of registration of independent candidates.

    Independent candidates must meet the criteria given by the ORPP including that they should have been nominated by not fewer than two thousand voters from at least 24 counties each. They must also present a unique symbol that they would use for their campaigns. 

    The candidates will also be required to forward their name and that of their running mates to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on or before the May 16 deadline to be cleared. Presidential hopefuls must also meet all the Constitutional requirements.

    "Establish and maintain a functioning office in the respective electoral area where the candidate is contesting, which must be available for inspection by the Commission at least 45 days before the elections. The address, including the physical address of the office, must be communicated to the Commission," demands IEBC.

    Other cleared candidates include:

    Kinyanjui Edward Njenga
    Otieno Duncan Oduor
    Irungu James Kamau
    Aoko Benard Ongir
    Munga David Chome
    Kariara Eliud Muthiora
    Ouma Pigbin Odimwengu
    Wanyanga Geoffrey Ndungu
    Awuonda Brian Oluoch
    Kihuha Esther Waringa
    Ngigi Faith Wairimu
    Kingori Patrick Kariuki
    Ng'ang'a Gibson Ngaruiya
    Katoni Benjamin Kevin Ndambuki
    Odhiambo Kevin Onyango
    Kanya Joe Stanley Kamau.B
    Githii David Muhia
    Kathae Peter Ndonga
    Mbugua Benson Mwaura
    Mwarania Paul Muriungi
    Nyagoko Jacob Oanda
    Wanjigi Harrison Njoroge
    Nzano Jared Chula
    Ngechu Moses Gichuki
    Gichira Ptah Solomuzi
    Nyangori Dorothy Kemunto
    Ng'ani Victor Obote
    Mukenda Jeremiah Simiyu
    Kamau George Munyottah
    Masira Erastus Nyamera
    Oganga Stephen Owoko
    Obunga Bernard Neto
    Kiprono Felix
    Nzamalu Samuel Mwangangi
    Mbugua Zablon Karanja
    Koue Grita Muthoni
    Kagumba Samuel Kiambati
    Ojijo Ogillo Mark Pascal
    Waweru Joseph Mbugua
    Munyeki June Juliet       
    Begum Nazlin