Facts and Figures About Today's Election

Voters queue at a polling station in Rurii ward, Nyandarua County on Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Kenyans across the 47 counties are currently casting their votes to choose leaders who will govern them for the next five years.

As per data from the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), over 22 million people are registered to vote.

They will have a chance to choose their next President, Governor, Senator, Woman Representative, Member of Parliament and the Member of County Assembly.

There are 16,105 candidates who have been cleared by the IEBC to contest in today's election.

From Top left: Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, George Wajackoyah, David Mwaure and Deputy President William Ruto.
From Top left: Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, George Wajackoyah, David Mwaure and Deputy President William Ruto.

IEBC indicate that there are only 1,879 elective positions in the country.

For the Presidential contest, there are 4 candidates who were cleared. They are Deputy President William Ruto of the United Democratic Alliance, former Prime Minister Raila Odinga of the Azimio la Umoja, George Luchiri Wajackoyah of Roots Party and David Mwaure of the Agano Party.

Other leaders set to be elected include 47 Senators, 290 MPs, 47 Women Representatives and 1,450 Members of the County Assembly.

However, only 45 governors will be elected today following the postponement of the gubernatorial contest in Kakamega and Mombasa counties.

The postponement was informed by the mix-up in candidates images during the ballot papers printing process. Also affected are two parliamentary seats of Kacheliba and Pokot South.

"The elections for Gubernatorial elective position in Kakamega and Mombasa Counties; and for the Member of National Assembly for Kacheliba and Pokot South Constituencies, are postponed to a later date to be announced through a gazette notice.

"IEBC submitted correct ballot proofs and packing list to the printer on time as required. The printer has since agreed to a quick reprint of the affected ballot papers," IEBC stated in a statement.

Registered voters will take part in the democratic exercise at the over 46,229 polling stations in the country which opened at 6am.

IEBC hired 465,660 temporary staff who will assist in the election process.

Additionally, 120,731 observers have been deployed to various polling stations to oversee the process.

Kenyan electoral ballots
Ballot boxes that were used during the Msambweni by-elections on December 14, 2020.